Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

Remote Resources and Services for Spring 2021

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

AASL / ACSA 2021 Joint Virtual Conference: Conference at-a-Glance

43rd Annual Association of Architecture School Librarians Conference, March 24-26, 2021

AASL/ACSA 2021 Joint Coference Logo

 

The Association of Architecture School Librarians (AASL) + The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

Exploring prospects for architecture libraries and architectural education.

Joint Virtual Conference, March 24-26, 2021

CONFERENCE-AT-A-GLANCE

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 24, 2021 

LOCATION: Hubilo Conference Platform

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM  EST  | ACSA OPENING PLENARY
  8:00 AM  –  9:00 AM  PDT

12:00 PM – 12:50 PM  EST  | WELCOME AND ICEBREAKER SESSION
  9:00 AM  –  9:50 AM  PDT

SPEAKERS: Lucy Campbell (AASL President), Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez (AASL Vice President)


10 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Vanessa Viola

  1:00 PM –   2:00 PM   EST  | CONFERENCE PAPERS: EXPANDING BORDERS (OUTREACH)
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM   PDT 

SPEAKERS: Tess Colwell, Jessica Quagliaroli | Emilee Mathews Mark Pompelia, Margot McIlwain Nishimura


10 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Rose Orcutt

  2:10 PM –   3:50 PM   EST  | VENDOR SHOWCASE LIGHTNING TALKS
11:10 AM – 12:50 PM   PDT 

 

2021 Vendor Showcase

Presenters

Product Links

2:10-2:15 PM EST Introductions
2:15-2:22 PM EST Actar Publishing/ UrbanNext Ricardo Devesa actar.com | urbannext.net
2:22-2:29 PM EST Archivision Maureen Burns archivision.com/educational/overview.html
2:29-2:36 PM EST Art & Architecture e-Portal Sara Sapire www.aaeportal.com/home
2:36-2:43 PM EST Building Types Online (Birkhäuser) Ria Stein and Todd Bludeau buildingtypesonline.com
2:43-2:50 PM EST Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) Margaret Richter www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/art-architecture-source
2:50-2:57 PM EST FIMO Fire Insurance Maps Cindy Demers www.historicalinfo.com/fimo
2:57-3:04 PM EST Pidgeon Digital  Laura Margolis and Lucian Palmer www.pidgeondigital.com/
3:04-3:11 PM EST RSMeans Data from Gordian  Eric Stridiron www.rsmeans.com

3:11-3:22 PM EST

Q & A

Special Lecture

3:22-3:25 PM EST Introduction
3:25-3:45 PM EST 2008-2021: Architecture between Two Crises Diego Grass, OnArchitecture www.onarchitecture.com

3:45-3:50 PM EST

Q & A

 


10 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Jeff Alger

4:00 PM – 5:00 PM  EST  | LIGHTNING TALKS SESSION
1:00 PM – 2:00 PM  PDT 

SPEAKERS: Richard Saladino | Ika Jorum | Amy Trendler | Danielle Reay | Michelle Amirkhanian | Cathryn Copper, Edward Becker 


5:00 PM – 6:00/6:30 PM  EST  | ACSA RESEARCH SESSION
2:00 PM – 3:00/3:30 PM  PDT 

THURSDAY, MARCH 25, 2021 

LOCATION: Hubilo Conference Platform

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM  EST  | AASL MEMBERSHIP AND BUSINESS MEETING
  8:00 AM  –  9:00 AM  PDT 

SPEAKERS: Lucy Campbell (AASL President) + Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez (AASL Vice-President)


30 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


12:30 PM –   1:45 PM  EST   | VIRTUAL TOUR WITH MICHAEL ALLEN
  9:30 AM – 10:45 AM  PDT 

15 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Megan Macken

   2:00 PM –  2:50 PM  EST   | CONFERENCE PAPERS: OPEN COLLECTIONS (ACCESS) 
11:00 AM – 11:50 AM  PDT 

SPEAKERS: David Eifler | Manuela Aronofsky, Maggie Portis, Ella Milliken Detro | Paula Farrar 


10 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Keli Rylance

  3:00 PM – 4:00 PM  EST   | PANEL DISCUSSION I: LIBRARIAN/ARCH. FACULTY COLLABORATION
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM  PDT 

PANELISTS: Maya Gervits, John Cays, Gernot Riether | Catherine Essinger


30 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


4:30 PM – 5:30 PM  EST    | TRIVIA SESSION
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM  PDT 

HOST: David Eifler, Nicole Santiago (Programming Committee)


5:30 PM – 7:00 PM  EST    | ACSA AWARDS PLENARY AND TOPAZ KEYNOTE
2:30 PM – 4:00 PM  PDT 

FRIDAY, MARCH 26, 2021 

LOCATION: Hubilo Conference Platform

11:00 AM – 12:15 PM  EST  | VIRTUAL TOUR OF FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT HOUSE IN EBSWORTH PARK
  8:00 AM  –  9:15 AM  PDT 

15 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Diane Lopez

12:30 PM –   1:30 PM  EST    | CONFERENCE PAPERS: INNOVATIVE INSTRUCTION 
  9:30 AM – 10:30 AM  PDT 

SPEAKERS: Sara Schumacher | Johanna Kasubowski | James Murphy, Christie Hurrell 


30 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: Jillian Kehoe

  2:00 PM –   2:50 PM  EST     | GROUP WORKSHOP
11:00 AM – 11:50 AM  PDT 

Expanded and Narrowed Boundaries of COVID-19 Pandemic

SPEAKERS: Barbara Ann Opar, Rose Orcutt, Lucy Campbell, Maya Gervits


10 MIN BREAK:  FREE TIME


MODERATOR: George Smart

  3:00 PM – 4:30 PM  EST    | PANEL DISCUSSION II: SPACES
12:00 PM – 1:30 PM  PDT 

Inside and Out: Investigations into the use of spaces both within and beyond our libraries’ walls 

PANELISTS: Barbara Ann Opar, Martha Walker, Gilda Santana | Tina Budzise-Weaver, Pauline Melgoza


 

4:30 PM – 5:30 PM  EST    | HAPPY HOUR SESSION
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM  PDT 

OPEN TO ALL: THEME TBD Lucy Campbell, Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez

 


5:30 PM – 7:00 PM  EST    | ACSA CLOSING PLENARY
2:30 PM – 4:00 PM  PDT