Chronicling AmericaThis link opens in a new windowSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Digital Public Library of AmericaThis link opens in a new windowThe DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.
Archive.orgThis link opens in a new windowInternet Archive (referred to as archive.org) is an Internet Library established in 1996 that now includes archived web pages, historic texts, audio, video and software. Many items have been donated from established American and Canadian libraries. It is archive.org's mission to prevent the Internet, and other "born-digital" materials from disappearing.
Subscription databases
ARTstor Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, and world history.
ARTstore Mobile is only available through the Safari browser (iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch devices) find it at http://library.artstor.org/ To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
The largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library
New York Times - Historical EditionThis link opens in a new windowThe New York Times (1851 - 2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
