History: Microform Collection

The following microform collections are held in back of the Circulation Desk area. Please ask Circulation Desk staff to retrieve the reels. There are two microform readers in the library. One is in the computer terminal area in Reference between the printer and scanners and the other is in Archives. Please consult with Archives staff if you will be using that microform reader.

The Black Culture Collection. Wooster, Ohio, : Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell Co., 1971-1975.
Location: Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

The Black Culture Collection at Cohen Library consists of 599 reels of microfilm that contain books, pamphlets, periodicals, and theses related to Black history in the U.S. and abroad and dating back to the 17th century. This material is a reproduction of material in the Trevor-Arnett Library at Atlanta University, which includes the personal library of bibliophile Henry P. Slaughter and is now housed at Clark Atlanta University's Woodruff Library Archives and Special Collections. To find material in this collection, use the following print indices. When you are ready to request the microfilm, please see Circulation Desk staff.

Indices:

• Black Culture Collection Catalog: Africa. 2 volumes. 1972. Cohen Library Reference Z 3509.B4 v.1-2
• Black Culture Collection Catalog: United States Section ... the Black Experience in America Since the 17th Century. 4 volumes. 1974. Cohen Library Reference Z 1361.N39 B47 v.1-4

Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Part 1, 1909-1950: Meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches and special reports. Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. 28 reels
Location: Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

This collection includes the core materials of the papers of the NAACP from 1909 through 1950, which detail the Association’s structure, activities and development at the highest organizational level.

Index:

• A Guide to Papers of the NAACP Part I, 1909-1950: Meetings of the Board of Directors, Records of Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and Special Reports. 
  

English Books, 1475-1640. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1938-. Reels 1-1646.
Location: Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

Books may be in Latin and Gothic text without transcriptions.

Indices:

• Pollard, Alfred W. A short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640. London, The Bibliographical society, 1963 [1926]. Location: Cohen Library Reference Z 2002.P77

This catalog "includes all books in whatever language printed in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, and all books in English wherever printed, also Latin service-books, wherever printed, if for use in England and Scotland. It does not include works by English authors printed out of England in Latin or any language other than English."

• Early English books, 1475-1640, Selected from Pollard and Redgrave's Short-title catalogue; a Guide to ... the Microfilm Collection. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International, 1966 printing- Location: Cohen Library Reference Z 2002 U572
• Early English books, 1475-1640, Selected from Pollard and Redgrave's Short-title Catalogue. Cross Index to Reels. Ann Arbor, University Microfilms International, 1972-. Location: Cohen Reference Z 2002.U574 Reels 1-1646.

Early English books, 1641-1700 selected from Donald Wing's Short title catalogue. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1961-. Reels 1-952
Location: Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

 Indices:

• Early English books, 1641-1700 selected from Donald Wing's Short title catalogue.Cohen Library Reference Z 2002 .U592 Reels 1-882 and 1139-1272.
  This catalog "includes all books in whatever language printed in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, and all books in English wherever printed, also Latin service-books, wherever printed, if for use in England and Scotland. It does not include works by English authors printed out of England in Latin or any language other than English."--xi
• Wing, Donald Goddard. Short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English books printed in other countries, 1641-1700. Index of printers, publishers, and booksellers. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press for the Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia, 1955. Cohen Reference Z2002 .W5 Index
• Early English books, 1641-1700: Selected from Donald Wing's Short title catalogue. A Cross Index to ... Reels 1-995. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms, 1961-. Location: Reference Z2002.U592 Reels 1-995.

 

English literary periodicals. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1951-[1977]. Reels 1-852.
Location: Microfilm (See Circulation Desk staff)

This collection contains English literary periodicals from the 17th through 19th centuries.

Index

• English literary periodicals: a Guide to the 1st through the 21st years of the microfilm collection. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms, 1969-<1973> Location: Cohen Reference Z6956 .E5 E5

 

German Baroque literature: Yale University Library collection. New Haven, Research Publications, 1969-1970. 656 reels
Location: Microfilm (See Circulation Desk staff)

Indices:

• Yale University. Library. Yale Collection of German Literature.:German Baroque literature; a catalogue of the collection in the Yale University Library. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1958-69. Cohen Reference Z 2231.Y3 volumes 1-2.

This bibliography is arranged by subject and period. For corresponding microfilm reels, please use in conjunction with the index below.

• German Baroque literature; bibliography-index to the microfilm edition of the Yale University Library collection. New Haven, Research Publications, 1971. Location: Cohen Reference Z2232 .Y353

This is an index to the microfilm collection and also includes alphabetical author and title card catalog entries. It should be used in conjunction with the bibliography above, which is arranged by subject and period.

 

NSDAP Hauptarchiv. Stanford, California: Hoover Institution Microfilms, 195-. 155 reels.
Location: Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

This set contains documents from the central archive of the Nazi Party related to its background, history and organization. It is particularly strong for the 1919-1933 period, although documents stretch back to 1890 and until 1945. The set also includes selected items from the Streicher and Himmler Collections at the Document Center in Berlin, originals of which are in the Bundesarchiv in Koblenz, and documents gathered from government agencies that tracked members of the Nazi, Socialist and Communist parties.  

Index:

• Guide to the Hoover Institution microfilm Collection NSDAP Hauptarchiv. Stanford, California: Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace, Stanford University, 1964. Cohen Reference DD256.5 .H364 The Guide is organized by subject, provenance, person, and organization.

American Periodical Series: 1800-1850. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1946-1978. 1966 reels
Location: See Circulation Desk staff

Index 

• American Periodicals, 1741-1900: An Index to the Microfilm Collections. Ann Arbor : University Microfilms International, 1979. Cohen Reference Z 6951 .H65 
• This collection is also available as a database called "American Periodicals 1740-1940" on-site at all NYPL branches. It is not available remotely.

 

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. Ann Arbor, Michigan, University Microfilms, 1941-. 643 reels. Note: Cohen Library is missing reels 4, 569-597, 628-643.
Location: See Circulation Desk staff

Index:

• American culture series, 1493-1875 : a cumulative guide to the microfilm collection : American culture series I & II, years 1-20:with author, title, subject, and reel number indexes. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1979. Cohen Library Reference Z1215.A583

Note: The Bibliography of American culture, 1493-1875 (Cohen Library Reference Z 1215.A585 1957) and An Index to the Bibliography of American Culture 1493-1875 (Cohen Library Reference Z1215.A585 1974) list 5,000 books and pamphlets on American culture published up to 1876 and not reprinted after 1900. These items were written by American and published in the U.S. and are mostly in English. These bibliographies also list 1,500 relevant titles published prior to 1876 but which were reprinted after 1900 and may be found in the American Periodical Series. Only about 2% of the titles in the American Culture Series may be found in these bibliographies; they are preceded by the acronym ACS.

 

See also: Black Studies and Women's Studies boxes.

Bibliography of American women. New Haven, Conn. : Research Publications, 1975-1981. 47 reels. R

Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

A bibliography of monographic materials written by or about women between 1600 and the 1920s. 

 

Index:

• Reel 1-16. Alphabetical file; Reel 17-33. Chronological file. Reel 34-47 Topical file.

Herstory: Women's History Collection. Berkeley, California: Women's History Research Center, etc., 1972-. 23 reels

Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

An international collection of over three hundred periodicals, newspapers and newsletters published by feminists and women's organizations between 1956 and 1971. The collection is based on the holdings of the Women's History Periodical Archive, assembled by the Women’s History Research Center (formerly called Women’s History Library).

 

Index:

• Herstory: Table of contents, and Guide to the microfilm edition of Herstory, Supplementary Set. Cohen Reference Z 7962 H5 and Cohen Reference Z 7962 W672
  

 

Women’s studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College.  Series 1, Woman's suffrage. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1990. 33 reels. A. National leaders (18 reels); Part  B. New York (15 reels).
Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

The collection includes letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, and other papers of notable American women and unknown suffragist fighting for women's rights. 

 

Index:

• Guide to the microfilm edition of Women’s studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliff College. Series 1, Woman’s suffrage. Cohen Reference JK 1896 .W653

 

CCNY Libraries does not have a print or online subscription to all journals, but we sometimes have older issues on microform. We also have microform collections containing historical books. Microform, which includes microfilm and microfiche, are miniature negatives of journals and books which can be magnified on a microform reader, like the one shown above. This reader is located in the Cohen Library reference area, near the printer.