It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Relations: Journals and Databases
This guide to the subject of International Relations is intended to provide you with information about accessing books and databases that will help you in your scholarship.
An open access quarterly from the American Association for the Advancement of Science that features a mix of original perspectives and research articles by science and diplomacy practitioners and thinkers from U.S. and international perspectives.
International Organization is a leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs. Subject areas include: foreign policies, international relations, international and comparative political economy, security policies, environmental disputes and resolutions, European integration, alliance patterns and war, bargaining and conflict resolution, economic development and adjustment, and international capital movements. The above link is for 1997 to present but 1947-2009 can be found on Jstor.
International Security publishes lucid, well-documented essays on all aspects of the control and use of force. Its articles cover contemporary policy issues, and probe historical and theoretical questions behind them. Essays in International Security have defined the debate on American national security policy and have set the agenda for scholarship on international security affairs.
Can't find the fulltext article?
To Request Articles
From any database use to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title List or the Catalog for print access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
If a journal is available at City College, do not request article viaInterlibrary loan
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
From the Library of Congress the Global Gateway is a unified portal to the Library of Congress's digital international collections and resources. Of particular interest is Portals to the World, selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world arranged by country.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.
Portal website to United Nations statistics --- topics include: Key Global Indicators, Millennium Development Goals Indicators and Gender Statistics, as well as statistics for Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information & Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Trade and Tourism
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is an American non-profit think tank that analyzes the impacts of budget policies and promotes effective approaches to reducing poverty. It was founded in 1981, and is based in Washington, D.C. Non-partisan research and policy institute working on federal and state fiscal policies and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income Americans.
A nonpartisan think tank that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy. The Economic Policy Institute is a 501 non-profit American think tank based in Washington, D.C. EPI presents a liberal viewpoint on economic issues. EPI has a sister organization, the EPI Policy Center, which is a 501 organization.
The Pew Research Center is an American think tank organization based in Washington, D.C. that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.