It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History and Philosophy of Science: Finding Articles
Key databases for articles on the history and philosophy of science are listed below. Select "More Databases" for a comprehensive listing of databases for science, medicine, technology and ethics among other subjects.
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Indexes more than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text peer-reviewed publications. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
Google Scholar provides direct links to academic papers on the web, as well as some journal articles which may be subscribed to by the University of Sydney. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles.
PsychINFO is the world's premier database covering psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines, covering nearly 2000 journals. Hundreds of these journals are available in full text through the PsychARTICLES database. Most of the publications covered are scholarly, peer-reviewed are oriented toward the scholar (senior or higher academic level), but many titles are appropriate for use by lower level undergraduates.
PubMed provides access to complete bibliographic information from over 5,500. biomedical journals and magazines. Articles from other life sciences publications are also indexed if their content is appropriate. Subject coverage includes clinical and experimental medicine, as well as the basic biological sciences that support the medical sciences. While this database indexes primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed publication and is most appropriate for seniors or higher level students and researchers,
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html
Off Campus Access
All currently enrolled students and staff are entitled to off-campus access to the Library's licenced electronic resources.