Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Hours

History and Philosophy of Science: Web Links

How to Search

The Internet for HPS
A step by step guide on how to use the Internet for HPS research - designed for British researchers.

 

Image Libraries

Historical Anatomies on the Web
A digital project by the NLM to selected images from the anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance.

Images from the History of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine has a number of very nice online exhibits, and they recently created this all-encompassing image collection to give users access to almost 70,000 images taken from their History of Medicine Division. The collection includes portraits, photographs, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art works that detail and illuminate the social and historical aspects of medicine from the 15th to the early 21st century.

Medical Photographic Library 

Part of the Wellcome Trust, the Library contains over 130,000 pictures of medicine past and present.

PHS: Images from the Office of the PHS Historian
A selection of photos that cover a hundred year span, ranging from the late nineteenth century to the late twentieth century and they are organized in six categories: Research, Health Care, Disease Control, Education, War and Disaster, and Safety.

Site of Interest

In Our Time BBC Radio4  - Melvyn Bragg and guests investigate the history of ideas.

Medical History of British India Papers - fully digitised by the National Library of Scotland, and freely accessible, these papers cover 18th and 19th century medicine in British India.

Medicine and Pharmacy Through Time - a brief introduction to the history of medicine and pharmacy, with some useful links.

Subject Directories

Bioethics.Net
Founded in 1993 as the first bioethics website, Bioethics.Net and the American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB) are a major source of information about bioethics.

Bioexplorer.Net
A directory of resources for biologists and the study of the history of biology.

Echo
A major website that catalogues, annotates and reviews sites on the history of science, technology and medicine.

History of Biomedicine
The Karolinska Insitutet's guide to biomedical resources on the Web.

History of Medicine
A directory created by the History of Medicine Division at the US National Library of Medicine.

History of the Health Sciences, WWW Links
Useful links provided by the Medical Library Association (MLA).

Intute
The Resource Discovery Network (RDN)aims to provide a directory of Internet sites especially selected for the UK academic community. The Intute Humanities Hub contains the directory for HPS.

Full Text Web Sites

Brightsparcs
A register with biographical information of more than 4,000 people involved in the development of science, technology and medicine in Australia, including references to their archival materials and bibliographic resources. The History of Australian Science and Technology Bibliography is also located at this site.

Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries
A collection of 631 detailed biographies of scientists, with facts about each individual and their contributions to science. Compiled by Richard S. Westfall, Professor in the Department of History and Philosophy of Science at Indiana University.

Galileo Manuscripts
A site containing links (text and facsimiles) to Galileo's works provided by the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, Florence; Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, and the Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Florence.

History of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine provides access to some of its digitised books and manuscripts.

The Newton Project
The Project aims to create a printed edition of Newton's theological, alchemical and administrative writings and an electronic edition of all his writings, including his correspondence.

NHS from the BBC Archives
Programmes and recordings on the history of the British National Health Service, established in 1948.

PhilSci
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science sponsored by: Philosophy of Science Association, Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh, and the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh. The archive is used by scholars to circulate new work (a preprint is an early version of new work often in preliminary form).

Science eBooks at the University of Adelaide
A collection of free eBooks available from the University of Adelaide with a Science theme. These are historic scientific texts that may be useful for those studying or sresearching the history and philosophy of science.

Starry Messenger
An electronic history of astronomy developed in the Whipple Museum of the History of Science and the Department of History and Philosophy of Science. It includes images of instruments, and encyclopedia style entries with references for further reading.

Technology in Australia, 1788 - 1988
A condensed history of technological innovation and adaptation, compiled by Fellows of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. Print copies are in Fisher Research and Undergraduate Libraries at 609.94 16.

Vatican Exhibit
A virtual exhibit displaying scanned images and descriptions of original works from the Library of Congress's Vatican Exhibit "Rome Reborn". The Greek Mathematics section shows works from Euclid and Archimedes; while the Medicine and Biology section includes Plato, Aristotle and Simplicius.

Museums, Collections and Libraries

ASAPWeb: Australian Science Archives Project
ASAP's aim is to improve access to Australia's scientific, technological and medical heritage by helping to preserve records and artifacts and communicating the existence of this heritage to a wide audience.

Health and Medicine Museums
A special interest group of museums in Australia, whose membership ranges from small local history collections to large state museums.

Macleay Museum, University of Sydney
The collection contains over 1000 scientific instruments, and small selection is displayed on the website.

Museum for the History of Science, University of Oxford
Links to exhibitions, collections database (an inventory of the collection with descriptions and images), library catalogue, newletter and image catalogue.

Museo di storia della scienza, Firenze (Institute and Museum of History of Science, Florence)
The museum contains over 5,000 apparatus and scientific instruments of the Medici and the Lorenese collection of instruments and didactic and experimental devices. The Institute is also a major contributer to the HSTM database.

NLM: National Library of Medicine Gateway
The Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the NLM, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, and HSRProj. The is also a link to the NLM Homepage.

Nobel E-Museum
The site contains lists, a searchable database and a reference table of all the Nobel Prizes for physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace.

Science Museum Library, London
The Science Museum Library and the Central Libraries of Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine linked their adjacent buildings in 1992, to form the Imperial College & Science Museum Libraries. The Science Museum Library's collections of books, periodicals, microfilms and other material amount in total to over 600,000 items.

Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine
Part of the Wellcome Trust which supports research in the history of medicine. Their image library contains over 130,000 pictures of medicine past and present.
url:

Search Engines

Australian Science at Work
A register of the many industries, corporations, research institutions, scientific societies and other organisations that have contributed to Australia's scientific, technological and medical heritage, with references to their archival materials and a bibliography of their historical published literature.

College of Physicians and Surgeons Obituary Database
Over 5,700 death notices; most are for graduates of the Columbia University College.

Medhist
Free access to a searchable catalogue, provided by the Wellcome Trust, of Internet sites and resources covering the history of medicine. A subject directory is also available.

Departments, Organisations and Associations

AAAS: American Association for the Advancement of Science
Founded in 1848, the society publishes the magazine Science.

History and Philosophy of Science, University of Sydney
Course descriptions and staff contacts.

History of Science Society
The Society's mission is to foster interest in the history of science. The website provides bibliographies and links to useful sites. It's publications include Isis, the international review devoted to the history of science and civilization held in Fisher Research 505 106, and Osiris, an annual thematic publication addressing emergent research in the history of science, also held in Fisher Research 505 259.

HOPOS: the History of Philosophy of Science Working Group
An informal, international working group of scholars whose aim is to promote scholarly research on HPS and related topics in the history of the natural and social sciences, logic, philosophy, and mathematics. Their newsletter is freely available on the website.

Philosophy of Science Association
This international association holds conferences, sponsors the PhilSci Archive and runs a listserv. The website provides an index to proceedings for 1976-1994.

PHS: US Public Health Service, Office of the PHS Historian
The Office provides resources for the history of public health and medicine in the USA. There are short essays with bibliographies and images for download.

Listserv

PSA-E
The Philosophy of Science Association's electronic mailing list. It aims to further studies and free discussion from diverse standpoints in the field of philosophy of science.

Know a Good Site?