Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

Remote Resources and Services for Spring 2021

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

United Nations: General Research

A guide to finding United Nations resources.

Note on Finding Print Resources

Print resources can be found in the United Nations, International Documents, or Reference sections, which are all located on the 2nd floor of Cohen Library.

Useful Links

General Research on the UN

If you are just beginning your research or you simply want an overview of the UN’s role in a particular area, it may be helpful to look at more general sources before delving into specific databases and indexes. The following resources contain much valuable information, presented in user-friendly formats, on the workings of the UN and can lead to more specific areas of inquiry.

Online Resources

  • United Nations website
    The United Nations website provides or links to a wealth of information on the structure and purpose of the organization as well as specific areas of concern such as human rights.

  • Official Website Locator for the United Nations System of Organizations
    Includes an alphabetical listing of the websites of various organizations associated with the United Nations. Individual websites of the various organizations often have comprehensive information about the topics with which they are concerned as well as access to the specific organization’s publications.

  • UN Press Releases and Meetings Coverage
    This is an excellent resource for current information on UN activities. Includes summaries of Security Council and General Assembly meetings and statements by the secretary-general and other officials. Searchable (by keyword) database goes from 1995 to the present.

Print Resources

  • Yearbook of the United Nations:
    Arranged by subject and issued yearly, this is a great resource for finding out what the UN did in a given year or what it has done over many years in a specific area of research interest. It also includes references to primary documents and reprints of some full-text documents. This source is not good for current research, however, as there is a significant lag time in publication.

    Call numberJX 1977 .A37 Y4 (UN section)

  • Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements: This four volume set offers a basic overview of how the UN works and many of the major issues it deals with, including entries on specific international agreements.

    Call number: JX 1977 O8213 1985 (Reference section)

Subject Guide

Sean O'Heir's picture
Sean O'Heir
Contact:
Cohen Library, Technical Services

Room 2/305 (NAC Building)

The City College of New York
160 Convent Avenue
New York, New York 10031
212-650-5073