LibGuides: School of Public Health Library: Research Resources

Research Resources

The heart of SPH library services lies in connecting students, faculty, and research staff with peer-reviewed publications. Below you will find links to some of our most popular public health-related databases for these resources. Click here for a short tutorial about logging into Library databases as an SPH student.

Please see the SPH Library Resource Guide for information on databases and more. Visit CCNY's Research Toolkit for a thorough overview of the research process. Click here for a complete A to Z list of databases, many not related to public health.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central , and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' Web sites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides indexing, back to 1937, for 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus; includes all MEDLINE titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc.
IF PAGE FAILS TO LOAD IN GOOGLE CHROME, TRY EDGE OR FIREFOX BROWSERS.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.

Set up a username and password with your City College email. Click the "Find It at CUNY" button to link to the full text article if available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of scholarly articles from 22,000 peer-reviewed journals worldwide. The platform provides tools for advanced search, citation analysis and bibliometrics.
IF PAGE FAILS TO LOAD IN GOOGLE CHROME, TRY EDGE OR FIREFOX BROWSERS.