It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All CCNY Libraries are open as study space to fully vaccinated patrons with reservations. Make a reservation.
Most library resources and services will still be available online.
One of the most efficient ways to locate articles on topics related to Sociology is to use the library's research databases. These databases are selected and purchased by the Library to provide access to research and information from journals in every discipline. When connecting to these resources from off-campus, you must enter your Remote access account before you are allowed access.
Ebsco Advanced Search
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR THE STUDENT RESEARCHER:
If you are using the Finding Articles link from an off-campus location, your CUNYID Card must be activated at a library Circulation / Check Out Desk. Card activation must be done each semester.
When using an off-campus location, you will receive a screen prompt to enter your Library ID number, from the bottom of our ID card, to gain access to the online database connection for articles.
Social Sciences Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. The database contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. From Queens College.