Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

See updated information on remote services for Spring 2021 or find answers to frequently asked questions.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Dominican Studies: Dominican Studies Institute Digital Resources

This guide provides links to useful databases, books, web sites, journal articles, and films in the interdisciplinary field of Dominican studies.

Dominican Digital Resources

  Sixteenth Century La Espanola Introductory Panel  

  Dominican Artist Baez      Dominican Artist Doris Rodriguez

CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Digital Resources

The CUNY Dominican Studies Institute at The City College of New York has developed digital open-source resources featuring various educational platforms to enhance teaching and learning on Dominican topics. Below you will find links and respective descriptions for each one of these projects.

FIRST BLACKS IN THE AMERICAS / LOS PRIMEROS NEGROS EN LAS AMÉRICAS
This bilingual academic digital platform presents the story of the first black-African inhabitants to arrive in the Americas. This digital tool has a collection of seventy-one archival packages containing documents and manuscripts from sixteenth-century La Española. It is the first platform to make this kind of collection of sources available on the internet to the larger public. For a photo gallery of historic monuments built during the Dominican Republic's colonial period, see the First Blacks in the Americas Photo Collection. It contains more than 2,900 photographs, organized in 57 sets. These buildings, churches, houses and sites of industrial and artisan production date to when what is today the Dominican nation began to develop as the first colony of the Spanish empire in the Americas.

SIXTEENTH CENTURY LA ESPAÑOLA: GLIMPSES OF THE FIRST BLACKS IN THE EARLY
COLONIAL AMERICAS

A groundbreaking exhibit featuring manuscripts about one of the earliest ancestral groups of Dominicans, tracing their origins to black Africans. This exhibit is a subset of the First Blacks in the Americas website.

THE SPANISH PALEOGRAPHY DIGITAL TEACHING AND LEARNING TOOL
This NEH-sponsored project is an open source, interactive digital educational platform. It intends to teach researchers how to decipher and read the handwriting styles of 16th and early 17th century manuscripts from La Española. 

FIGHTING FOR DEMOCRACY: DOMINICAN VETERANS FROM WORLD WAR II Click here for the JSTOR Open Collections Site
This exhibit highlights the experience of Dominican veterans in World War II, tracing their stories from their arrival to the U.S., their incorporation into the war, and their post-war experience.

A HISTORY OF DOMINICAN MUSIC IN THE UNITED STATES
This NEH-funded project is the first educational website regarding the history of Dominican Music in the United States. The website features an interactive, multimedia platform that documents Dominican artists, venues, and genres spanning from 1910 to 2010. 
 
DOMINICAN ARTISTS IN THE UNITED STATES
This project disseminates the work of artists of Dominican descent living in the United States. Artists: Josefina Baez and Doris Rodriguez

DOMINICAN LANDMARKS
This online interactive resource provides information on a variety of landmarks that document the presence and actions of people of Dominican descent in the United States.

DOMINICAN HISTORIC NEIGHBORHOODS: WASHINGTON HEIGHTS
An interactive map showcasing the geographic boundaries of a proposed Dominican historic district in Washington Heights.

CUNY DSI PUBLICATIONS
This website hosts CUNY's institutional repository. It provides full text access to all CUNY DSI publications.

Dominican Digital Resources

Dominican Veterans in WWII

 A History of Dominican Music in the United States      Dominican Landmarks  

Dominican Historic Neighborhoods