Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Hours

African American Studies: Women

Web Sites

Women of Color Web Sites noteworthy sites that focus on women of color in the United States and around the world

A database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
 
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century (The Schomburg Center has made available this extraordinary digital collection of 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. The entire database as well as individual works can be searched by keywords.)
 
Women's Studies in Digital Archives
Provides access to primary source materials for women's studies within digital archives. 

Digital sources

 

Black Drama   (1850+)  

Full text of plays written by dramatists from Africa, the Caribbean, and North America, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays.

 

Black Short Fiction     

Full text of 760 stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

 

Black Thought and Culture     

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

 

 

North American Women's Letters and Diaries  (Colonial-1950)

Full text database of women's personal writings

 

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974  

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States  (1600-2000)  

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.  To find material by and about African American women use the Search feature to limit results to texts, people, or movements

 

Women Working (1800-1930)  

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

 

Databases

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Literature Resource Center  

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

 

PsycINFO  (1800's+)

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online  (1995+)

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies

 

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.