LibGuides: News Research: Getting Started with News

Here are several Library databases of news sources to get you started.

News
Gale OneFile: News provides access to 2,500 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
Nexis UNI
Nexis Uni™ (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.

News
Gale OneFile: News provides access to 2,500 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published in the US, including magazines on business, child rearing, and ethnic history. Currently over 270 publications are included. The focus of the database is news, social issues, culture, and related issues. It is appropriate for persons at all academic levels.

This resource is limited to 95 simultaneous CUNY users.
Regional Business News
A collection of full-text U.S. and international business newswires. Covers business, political science, economics, and other diverse and international news.

Historical newspapers are great primary sources that can help you understand how a subject was viewed and understood at the time. They also fill in the record on people and topics that may not turn up in archival research.

New York Times - Historical Edition
The New York Times (1851 - 2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (AAS)
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
Burney Collection Newspapers, 17th-18th Century
The largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Brooklyn Newsstand
Access to the entire collection of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper ranging from the date of its publication in 1841 to its close in 1955. Other local Brooklyn newspapers are included.
New York State Historic Newspapers
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

New York Times
CUNY students can get a free subscription by going to nytimes.com/passes and signing up with your CCNY email.
Washington Post
Wall Street Journal
CUNY students can get a free subscription by going to WSJ.com/cuny and creating an account using your CCNY email.
Chicago Tribune
Los Angeles Times
Boston Globe

Reuters
The world's largest international multimedia news agency.
Associated Press
An independent, non-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City.
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. AFP is the third largest news agency in the world.

Looking for a Specific Newspaper or Journal?

Use CCNY Library's Journal Title Search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases.