Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

Remote Resources and Services for Fall 2020

HOLIDAY CLOSURE: CCNY Libraries virtual services will be closed November 26-November 29.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Ravi Shankar Collection

Archives and special collections related to Ravi Shankar available at CCNY

Ravi Shankar was hired by the CCNY Music department as a visiting professor in fall 1967. He taught two courses on Indian music in conjunction with ethnomusicologist Professor Elise Barnett.  All lectures and campus concerts were recorded and are accessible in the CCNY Archives & Special Collections.     

Born on April 7, 1920 in Varanasi, India, Ravi Shankar (1920-2012) was a Bengali Indian musician and composer of Hindustani classical music. Shankar developed his distinct style of playing sitar by drawing inspiration from his broad knowledge of Indian musical traditions. Shankar helped bring Indian classical music to the world stage through performance, collaboration and teaching.

Image: Ravi Shankar teaching at CCNY. From "Master of the Sitar" The Alumnus; City College of New York,  used by permission courtesy of the CCNY Archives & Special Collections

Special Collections

The Ravi Shankar special collection consists of:

Audio Recordings -- (online access copies available here)

  • Undergraduate and Graduate lectures from the fall 1967 semester
  • 11/30/1967 concert performance at CCNY
  • 1972 masterclass and concert recordings

Course Documents  -- (online access copies available here)

  • Course handouts and syllabi

Transcripts of audio recordings

Newspaper clippings & emphemera

 

For more information about accessing materials, please contact CCNY Music Librarian Michael Crowley or CCNY Archivist Sydney Van Nort