Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

See updated information on remote services for Spring 2021 or find answers to frequently asked questions.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Dominican Studies Institute

Online Catalog

The CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Library catalog is searchable online via the CUNY OneSearch Catalog. All items in the collection can be searched via keywords, categories, phrases, authors, titles, and other fields in the database.

Print Collectiondsi bookshelves

The CUNY DSI Library has a collection of 6,921 volumes in WorldCat, including books, doctoral dissertations, M.A. theses, audiovisual resources, and reports. In addition, the Library has individual journal collections and newspaper articles that are being digitized as part of an in-house database system due to copyright restrictions.

Film, Video, Audio Collection

The DSI Library has an extensive collection of video and audio material. See a full list of the material available here.

Digital Collections

  • CUNY Academic Works is CUNY's Institutional repository. It provides access to all of CUNY DSI's publications that are available as full-text and freely available to all.
  • Dominican Artists in the United States disseminates the work of artists of Dominican descent living in the United States. The first collection focuses on Dominican artist Josefina Báez, founder of the Ay Ombe Theatre in New York City.
  • Fighting for Democracy: Dominican Veterans from World War II is a pioneering exhibit of twelve panels, in which photographs, documents, correspondence, newspaper articles, and short biographies tell the stories of Dominicans that served in the U.S. Armed Forces during World War II.  
  • First Blacks in the Americas is a digital academic platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española by the Spanish colonizers when they arrived in 1492 and throughout the sixteenth century. Subsets of First Blacks in the Americas on ARTstor and OMEKA contain photos of monuments, ruins and manuscripts from the colonial period in La Española.

Collection Donors

The DSI collection would not be possible without our generous donors. See a full list of our donors here.