Today's Hours
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Available at the music library and electronically via the Open Library database.
The Grove Dictionary of American Music by
Available in hard copy at the music library and electronically through the Oxford Reference Database.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
Available online via the Oxford Music online database
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by
Available online via the Oxford Reference database
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by
Fully accessible online via the Oxford Music Online database
Need a jump start to your research in music?
Browse the Reference area on the main level of the music library, where you'll find our rich collection of bibliographies and research guides. Use these to discover in-depth resources on your topic. Here are two key guides for music research:
Music Library and Research Skills by
Concise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music. Through this practical introduction to the key concepts of music research, students will develop a firm understanding of the tools used to gather data, including what types of sourcesexist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.
Music Research by
Music Research: A Handbook is designed for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers. Concise and practical, this unique handbook does not aim to provide an exhaustive introduction to music research;rather, it is highly selective and helps students navigate the most significant English-language research tools and resources; reference titles in major areas; and the principal sources in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. OrganizationThe book's first section (Chapters 1-13) is organized by type of research tool-for example, encyclopedias, periodical indexes, and discographies. Each chapter in this section includes an overview of the tool it covers; an annotated bibliography that describes the tool's purpose, scope, strengths,and weaknesses; and an evaluation checklist that encourages students to think critically about the tools and materials they discover as they do research. The second section (Chapters 14-15) discusses style manuals and various resources for writing about music and citing sources. Methods forevaluating reference and research tools are emphasized throughout the book.Companion WebsiteA companion website (a href="http://www.us.oup.com/us/companion.websites/9780195171198/?view=usa"www.oup.com/us/musresearch/a) includes all the links cited in the text as well as supplemental links not cited; updates to bibliographies and readings; and lists of the research tools in the text, coremusic journals, and major professional music associations.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
**The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
Writing about Music by
Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper. Updated to reflect the latest research methodology, resources, and technology, it continues to offer strong coverage on research, organization, drafting and editing-and includes a thorough section on basic writing skills. KEY TOPICS: Contains complete chapters on writing about music, analysis and research, getting started, writing a research paper (from choosing a topic through outlining, writing the draft, editing and revising), questions of format, other kinds of writing projects (i.e., seminar presentations, concert reports, program notes), writing styles, and common writing problem. Covers the latest musicological research and new resources for researching both print and electronic publications. Discusses writing papers on a PC, and provides a sample paper in the appendix that illustrates matters of format and discusses the events in the musical work. MARKET: For writers.