Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.

See updated information on remote services for Spring 2021 or find answers to frequently asked questions.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Dominican Studies: Dominican Bibliographies

This guide provides links to useful databases, books, web sites, journal articles, and films in the interdisciplinary field of Dominican studies.

DOMINICAN BIBLIOGRAPHIES

These bibliographies are intended to provide references to sources related to the field of Dominican Studies. 

Dominican Bibliographies

Ackerman, Holly. The Sea is History: Bibliography: Dominican Republic: An Brief Bibliography of Key Sources on Caribbean Sea Migration, 1960-2009. LibGuides. Duke University.

Alvarez López, Luis. "Dominican Studies: A Selected Bibliography." In Dominican Studies: Resources and Research Questions. Dominican Research Monographs. New York: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute, 1997, pp. 1-32. 

 Aponte, Sarah. "Dominican Diaspora." Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, 2017.

Aponte, Sarah. "Dominican Migration to Europe: A Biographical Approach.” In Papers of the Fifty-Fourth Annual Meeting of the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials. Edited by Pamela Graham. New Orleans, Louisiana: SALALM, 2012, pp. 204-214.

Aponte, Sarah and Franklin Gutiérrez. Autores dominicanos de la diáspora: apuntes bio-bibliográficos (1902-2012). Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic: Biblioteca Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña, 2013.

Aponte, Sarah. Dominican Migration to the United States, 1970-1997: An annotated bibliography. Dominican Research Monographs. New York: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute, 1999.

Aponte, Sarah. "Dominican Bibliographies: An Overview." Dominican Migration to the United States, 1970-1997: An annotated bibliography. Dominican Research Monographs. New York: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute, 1999, pp. 11-20

Dominican Republic - Bibliography - Country Studies. 

Hernández, Ramona. "Dominican-Americans." Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, 2017.

Moya Pons, Frank. 

Torres-Saillant, Silvio. "Dominican American Literature." Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, 2013.

READING LISTS:

“35 Best Dominican Republic History Books of All Time.” Book Authority.

Arreola, Cristina. “5 Books By Dominican Authors.” Latina. Jan. 25, 2015.

Dominican American Children and Juvenile Book List. Dominican Writers.

Isaad, Virginia. “Latina Reads: 14 Dominican And Dominican-American Escritoras Whose Books You Need To Add To Your Reading List.” Fierce Boss Ladies. 05/17/18.

Dominican Republic Urbanization Process

Dominican Families

Dominicans and Asia

Dominican Blackness Related Resources