Skip to Main Content
Today's Hours

CCNY Libraries are open regular hours. Access is limited to CCNY ID holders only.

Dominican Studies: Caribbean & Latin American Digital Primary Collections

Links to useful sources in the interdisciplinary field of Dominican Studies.

Caribbean and Latin American Digital Primary Collections with Dominican Sources

Digital Library of the Caribbean - "The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean."

Caribmap - "Resource for exploring historical map images of Caribbean islands. The site has evolved since 1999 and now presents images of approximately 1800 maps of the islands printed over five centuries (16th–20th)...This is a non-profit site created and directed by a scientist, Blair Hedges, who is solely responsible for the content. "

Maps of the Caribbean, 1584-1845 - "This collection includes maps dating from the 16th to 19th centuries, published primarily in Paris, London, and Amsterdam. Many of the maps are hand colored. Some of the specific areas featured on the maps include the West Indies, Latin America, the Gulf of Mexico, Central America, and the Virgin Islands."

Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources - "This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean."

LACLI (Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources) - "LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content across research disciplines."

The Digital Library of Latin American and Caribbean Sports (DLLACS) - " The Digital Library of Latin American and Caribbean Sports (DLLACS) created and hosted by the Latin American and the Caribbean Studies section of the International and Area Studies Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The site aims to serve as an online bibliography that points scholars to resources for the study of sports and recreational activities across the continent." 

The Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) - "An open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean."