Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Hours

Hatch-Billops Oral History of Black Culture

Instructions for CCNY and CUNY patrons

Digital copies of the Hatch-Billops oral history interview recordings are accessible to all CUNY library patrons through the Artstor Digital Library database. For CCNY library patrons, visit the library website and choose the link for "Databases"

Library Website front page, Databases highlighted

You will be redirected to the Databases A-Z page, our comprehensive list of subscription databases. Scroll down and find the Artstor Digital Library database and select the link. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login using your CCNY User ID (your CCNY email address) and password. Once logged on, you will be redirected to the Artstor interface. To access the Hatch-Billops collection, choose the "Browse" menu and select "Institutional Collections."

Artstor interface, Browse menu, Institutional collections selected

This will display a list of CUNY digital collections accessible through Artstor. Select "CCNY Hatch-Billops Oral History" to access the entire collection. 

Artstor interface, list of CCNY institutional collections

Now you can browse the entire Hatch-Billops Oral history collection online. 

Artstor interface, Hatch-Billops Oral History collection online

You can also search Artstor in order to find a specific interview, however your search will also display results from other collections held in Artstor. Tip: Save time by searching proper names within quotation marks (e.g., "Eubie Blake")    

Instructions for Researchers not affiliated with CCNY or CUNY

Access requests from researchers outside of CUNY will be handled on a case-by-case basis. To request access, please email archives@ccny.cuny.edu.