LibGuides: Composition of Individual & Society. The Evolving Relationship between Humans and Animals: Databases

Database Box

Databases

For broad searches, search our Library Discovery Tool, OneSearch, for books and articles.

The individual databases that the Library subscribes to are subject or genre specific and offer a more curated search experience.

The following short list focuses on humanities-focused databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of journals and primary sources that offers full-text to more than 2,300 journals.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Indexes more than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text peer-reviewed publications. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
Academic Video Online (AVON Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) is a collection of 70,000 videos covering all academic interests. Videos are fully transcribed and indexed. Users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content in Blackboard.
Popular Channels Include:
1. Film Platform
2. American History
3. Anthropology
4. BBC Landmark
5. Black Studies
6. CNN
7. Counseling and Therapy
8. Documentaries
9. Music and Performing Arts
10. PBS
11. Science and Engineering
12. SONY Pictures Classics
Format: Streaming Videos
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search.

CCNY Libraries are open regular hours. Access is limited to CCNY ID holders only.

Composition of Individual & Society. The Evolving Relationship between Humans and Animals

Database Box

Databases