LibGuides: World Humanities: Ebooks & Databases (Journals)

Ebooks & Databases (Journals)

Ebooks

We have access to a number of ebooks in OneSearch. You can also search directly in the Ebook Central and EBSCO Ebook databases (below).

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome by T. James Luce
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature by James Wyatt Cook

Forms of Astonishment : Greek Myths of Metamorphosis by Richard Buxton

Myths and mythologies : a reader by Jeppe Sinding Jensen

The Origins of the world's mythologies by Michael Witzel

Databases

Databases are curated collections that cover a certain type of resource or a specific subject. Here is a selection of resources that offer a good selection of journals and articles strong in humanities.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Indexes more than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text peer-reviewed publications. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A broad database of of 250,000 books from leading academic, scientific, technical, medical, and professional publishers. Search a subject or key word to see what is available.
To learn more about reading and borrowing on the EBook Central platform, go to https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
About 200,000 titles from Academic and university presses contained in the larger EBSCO Ebook platform.
To learn more about reading and downloading EBSCO Ebooks, go to https://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
The authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
GLS brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a single digital environment.Search authors and their works to retrieve both reference entries and peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Strong in humanities resources with every article available in full text. Professors love JSTOR.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online literature resource, offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works, including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Like JSTOR, Project Muse provides scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

CCNY Libraries are open regular hours. Access is limited to CCNY ID holders only.

World Humanities

Ebooks & Databases (Journals)

Ebooks

Databases