LibGuides: Writing for the Social Sciences: Databases

Databases for AQM

Databases

Below are links to databases useful for researching subjects related to local populations.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of journals and primary sources that offers full-text to more than 2,300 journals.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central , and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' Web sites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. The database contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. From Queens College.