Philosophy

Includes articles, calendars, lists, news, and a direct link to the journal site. Maintained by the American Society for Aesthetics, this site has very extensive links to resources and references to articles and reviews. Frequently updated and worthy of study.

The British Society of Aesthetics provides information about the society itself, grants and prizes it provides, its journal The British Journal of Aesthetics (with online full-text articles available to members), and conference reports from around the world. There are also details of forthcoming events and courses in aesthetics in the wider world. The site is well laid-out and simple to navigate, with hyperlinked access between the different sections. Includes articles, calendars, lists, news, a

Electronic journal of the Canadian society for aesthetics 'AE,' Canadian Aesthetics Journal (ISSN 1496-3140), is an electronic publication of the Canadian Society for Aesthetics that provides a wide range of papers on topics in aesthetics, philosophy of art, and art criticism. The papers are published in either French or English and each issue contains approximately eight articles. Other content includes reviews, bio-bibliographical notes, and an archive, which dates back to the first

This Finnish Institute promotes research, education and publishing in the field of applied aesthetics. The Institute organises research and educational projects, seminars, Internet projects, exhibitions, and other events. The site lists the Institute's publications and carries the full text of their IO Internet Magazine. An events section gives conference and seminar information for those working in the field of applied aesthetics. There is also a select list of links to related

Major philosophical organization for American philosophers. Contains a public archive of their publications and conference materials, links to Web resources, and professional data. A 'members only' section contains job listings and a membership directory. Look under resources for a list of various philosophical societies and associations.

The purpose of the British Society for the Philosophy of Science is to study the logic, the methods, and the philosophy of science, as well as those of the various special sciences, including the social sciences. Shows current issue of The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science.

Holds that philosophy is for everyone, not just a select few. Sponsors three electronic journals.

Many links with nearly daily updates, including an online version of their journal The Philosopher.

Non-profit organization offering digitization and e-publishing services, they sponsor POIESIS, a for-fee collection of online serials (http://www.nlx.com/posp/index.htm).

This group understands intercultural philosophy as the endeavor to give expression to the many voices of philosophy in their respective cultural contexts.

Facilitates the formation of community groups called Socrates Cafes.

A scholarly organization to promote interest and research in the history of American Philosophy. Publishes a new free journal Wiiliam James Studies (http://williamjamesstudies.press.uiuc.edu/)

An assortment of discussion threads from 1994 to 2004 on a variety of philosophical topics, including the avant-garde, Nietzsche, Baudriard, Bourdieu, Habermas, Heidegger, modernism, and Third World women.

This is a commercial site from Australia with a short essay, ?Enhancing our Grasp of Complex Arguments? that serves as an introduction. This provides one example of a commercial application of critical thinking.

A jazzy interactive tutorial for critical thinking from San Jose State University developed by D. Mesler of their English Department. Around fifty exercises on topics such as ?Parts of an Argument? and ?Fallacies and Ono-Rational Persuasion.? Quite involved, using multiple-choice answers.

This presents a list of approximately 30 kinds of information-seeking questions with accompanying suggested search strategies. Geared for K-12 level, but interesting.

This page does not solely focus on argumentation in natural language, but broadens the arena to address the issue of the nature and contexts of good reasoning. Thus, the page includes everything from formal logic resources (because in many contexts formal reasoning is good and appropriate reasoning) to resources in rhetoric. By Bruce B. Janz. Very current, although many links dead.

13 sub-topics with multiple links each.

Outlines and gives links to papers on ethical issues in AI. Provides definitions and overviews, ethical principles involved, and discusses areas of medicine, finance, law, theology, computer errors, and links. From the North Carolina State U. Ethics in Computing site.

Maintained at the University of Texas-Denton, this site covers topics such as environmental citizenship, environmental justice, nature aesthetics, news and photos.

The Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics claims to be the world's largest concentration of applied philosophers. Spanning three of Australia's most prestigious universities our purpose is to connect rigorous philosophical thinking with policy input, community discussion, and professional aims.

An Ethics Toolkit for Managers by The Management Assistance Program for Nonprofits, part of the Free Management Library.

This article defines Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and argues why it is important. There are multiple links to examples. There are examples of some CSR disasters, as well as success stories, and some case studies to highlight how CSR isn't always a simple decision, especially when working in complex, global market.

Around twenty resources are listed under the headings General, Government and Legal Resources on the Environment, and Environmental Justice. Other features include multi-media, online surveys, NPR?s Talk of the Nation, a survey of online articles, a bibliographic survey, and a pointer to summaries/book reviews. Under the resources tab are included tips on writing ethics papers.

This rich site lists 30 sub-topics within the Philosophy of Nature, plus break-out listings of environmental thinkers, environmental theories and concepts, and short discussions of classic nature writing, Merleau-Ponty?s ontology of nature, and environmental ethics.

The Environmental Political Theory (EPT) group gathers together activists and scholars who are interested in what political theory can contribute to larger policy debates and intellectual discussions about environmental issues.

Maintained by Dr. Edward F. Gehringer, NCSU, this site contains in outline form many topics and their links.

Two dozen sub-categories in Wikipedia are offered as well as a list and links to great ethicists.

30 sub-categories divided into Ethical Theory, Resources, and Applied Ethics. Dedicated to the promotion of thoughtful discussion of difficult moral issues. Founded in 1994 and maintained by Lawrence M. Hinman, UCSD. Includes links to 50 classic texts in ethics.

This is the web site of the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, an institute of Georgetown University focusing on bioethical issues. It offers approximately 145,000 bibliographic citations to journal and newspaper articles, reports, legal materials, and book chapters.

Bioethics.net is the official website of the American Journal of Bioethics(AJOB). Formerly a non-profit site, it is owned by Taylor and Francis, the publisher of AJOB.

A guide to minority and diversity issues in philosophy programs.

Jobs world-wide arranged geographically.

This is a serious review of teaching progrograms in English-speaking universities worldwide, specializing in an extensive guide to graduate schools. Also comments on undergraduate study.

Plato, Aristotle, Epictetus, Plotinus and others.

Links to full texts and biographies of Macchiavelli, Erasmus, Descartes, etc.

Part of a larger web site LIVIUS--Articles on Ancient History. Succinct descriptions of a dozen Greek philosophers with nice illustrations.

231 links covering ancient, medieval, renaissance, and nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

This site is intended for anyone interested in mediaeval logic and philosophy broadly construed. However, it is inactive as of March 9, 2007.

Over 25,000 items including correspondence, articles, lectures, speeches, etc. of this noted author, educator, and political philosopher

This website gives information on Jeremy Bentham and about the work of the Bentham Project. We are the world centre for Bentham Studies and our main activity is the production of the new edition of Bentham's Collected Works.

A Trilingual HTML Edition.

A variety of resources relating to Michael Foucault. Includes articles, bibliographies, commentary on translations, photographs, links to the Foucault Studies journal, and more.

A learned society, founded in 1968, whose goal is to promote the study of the philosophy of Hegel and Hegelianism, its place within the history of thought, and its relation to social, political, and cultural movements since his time. Includes about 50 links to all things Hegel.

Includes many complete works as well as writings about David Hume and related links.

Very detailed listing of James's works and internet sites.

From a web site also having Writings by Kant and Writings about Kant.

Original works in German plus translations as well as critical books and essays by by Stephen Palmquist along with links to other web sites.

A rich site listing many works by and about Mill. Frequently updated with news about articles and conferences, this is part of the Utilitarian Philosopher?s series, which also includes Hume, Bentham, and others.

Links and discussions.

See box below.

A web site that aims to critically explore and apply the work of Sir Karl Popper, a key figure in the defense of science.

Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus--bilingual edition--hypertext of the Ogden edition of this Wittgenstein classic.

A several paragraph beginning from Principia Cybernetica Web.

A short introduction with links.

Natural science and metaphysical philosophy can coexist peacefully in the modern mind. This document is proof. 19 chapters with appendices and a forum, by Wayne Stewart.

Ceners round a document they created called Principia Metaphysica from the Stanford Center for the Study of Language and Information.

Archelogos aims at the development of methods of electronic representation of arguments, and methods of electronic reasoning, using advanced artificial intelligence techniques.
Archelogos has established a network of international cooperation with distinguished philosophers, experts in argumentation and researchers in artificial intelligence from leading universities throughout the world.
The main area of application of Archelogos Projects is ancient philosophy and in particular the works of Plato and Aristotle.

An extnesive site that includes a map of the dialogues and links to the dialogues on the web. In English and French.

This multifaith, independent site is focused on providing religious, spiritual, and moral information and inspiration from a spectrum of religious and spiritual beliefs. The site includes news, discussions, culture, prayer, links to sacred texts, pages for Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and many other religions and spiritual beliefs. There is a glossary of religion terms. The focus of this site is very ecumenical, with an emphasis on tolerance and an unbiased approach.

The online version of the Encyclopedia of Religion and Society, edited by William H. Swatos, Jr. and published in 1998, has been made available on the website of the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.

Though last modified in 1998, this is a very extensive review and listing, including links to full text of many authors.

The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet, dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship,.

35 links that explore this issue.

Sources for Study of Religions--this site offers information about religious traditions that developed in the Middle East or West Asia as well as others from South and East Asia, too.

A well organized, searchable site linking to documents and resources in many areas of religion. Includes American studies, ancient Near East, anthropology & sociology, art & archaeology, Biblical studies, Buddhist tradition, Christian tradition, comparative religion, confessional agencies, East Asia, ethics & moral values, Greco-Roman studies, Hindu studies, Islamic tradition, Judaic studies, philosophy & theology, and psychology of religion.

From the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Provides a selective, annotated list of links to Internet resources related to
women in religion, feminist theology, and the feminine divine.

A clear guide to research in this area. Materials of all formats are included, along with a specific site for 'Free Online Resources for the Study of Christianity (http://www.library.yale.edu/div/forfree.html).' The entire site is searchable, which makes it handy for specific topics within the area.

The Center was founded to ensure that the thought and spirit of Jacques Maritain would remain at Notre Dame long after those present on the happy occasion of its founding were gone.

This collection of links from the Virtual Religion Index is divided into the following categories: general, the Vedas, Upanishads, epics, theology & devotion, schools & teachers, and yoga.

This is the official website of the Vatican where you can read papal documents, listen to archives of Radio Vaticana, read a current edition of the Vatican newspaper, watch videos from the archives, tour museums, and more.

This is a detailed guide to information on the Islamic Near East.

The Macdonald Center challenges scholars, students, the media and the general public to move beyond stereotypes and develop an accurate awareness and appreciation of Islamic religion, law and culture. It is committed to the premise that through intensive study and academically guided dialogue, mutual respect and cooperation between Muslims and Christians can and must develop. Many helpful links.

Approximately 25 recommended web sites from our Jewish Studies guide.
Sites on Kabbalah at:
http://libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/content.php?pid=231276&sid=1942946
and Hasidim at:
http://libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/content.php?pid=231276&sid=1950851

This group, Internet Infidels, promotes a naturalistic worldview. Naturalism is the "hypothesis that the natural world is a closed system" in the sense that "nothing that is not a part of the natural world affects it." As such, "naturalism implies that there are no supernatural entities," such as gods, angels, demons, ghosts, or other spirits, "or at least none that actually exercises its power to affect the natural world.

46 links covering multiple perspectives