LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Journals

Need help?

E-Z Proxy Access
For all resources from off-campus click database name and follow instructions. See instructions

Can't find the fulltext article?

To Request Articles

From any database use to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title List or the Catalog for print access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
If a journal is available at City College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
If a journal is unavailable at City College, request article via Interlibrary loan
If a City College paper journal issue or volume is missing, request it via ILL with note.
Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.

Scholary Journal Articles (Secondary Sources)

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
GLS brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a single digital environment.Search authors and their works to retrieve both reference entries and peer-reviewed articles.

Search for journal articles in databases. A complete list of databases is available under Databases A to Z.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online literature resource, offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works, including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals, series, and publishers.

Essay & General Literature
The Essay and General Literature database provides indexing and abstracts for collections of articles and essays. Approximately 320 books are indexed each year, currently, over 5,000 collections have been indexed. Subject coverage is centered around the humanities and social sciences, including economics, political sciences, literary criticism, philosophy, and other subjects. While science and technology are not explicitly covered, the database is rich in articles on the social and philosophical

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of journals and primary sources that offers full-text to more than 2,300 journals.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Most searches return an assortment of citations, abstracts, and links to full text. To link Google Scholar to the City College Library's full text offerings, click 'Scholar Preferences,' type 'City College,' and click 'Find Library.' Then check the box next to 'City College - Find fulltext at CCNY.'
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Indexes more than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text peer-reviewed publications. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.All of the titles are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals; thus, this site site is most appropriate for the more advanced student or researcher.

Primary Sources

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) and more than 32 million pages, making ECCO the premier and irreplaceable resource for eighteenth-century research.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The result of partnerships between Gale and almost one hundred libraries to preserve and make digitally available content for academic research.

Citation Search

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals, series, and publishers.

The following databases will provide you with citations to scholarly articles of your interest.

Gale Literary Index
A master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.

Librarian/Chief of Cataloging & MPC Division

William Gibbons

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Cohen Library, NAC 2nd Floor

Phone: (212) 650 7602

Fax: (212) 650-7604

Subjects: African American Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature

There will be no Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests processed between December 15, 2023 and January 2, 2024. Enjoy your winter break!