It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Canadian Patent Database contains patent documents from 1869 to the present time. The patent information consists of patent document images, bibliographic data and patent document text. Click on (i) next to title for more information.
For patents granted prior to August 15, 1978, the text of the abstracts and claims is not available. These patents can only be searched by their patent numbers, their titles, the assignee or inventor names, or classification number.
Canadian patent applications can be filed in either English or French. All patent documents on this site have both English and French titles, but between 1960 and 1978 only the language used at the time of filing is available.
* European Patent Office (EP) contains the most recent 24 months of applications from the European Patent Office. For older material, search the Worldwide Patents database
* World Intellectual Property Organization contains the most recent 24 months of Patent Cooperation Treat (PCT or WO) patents. For older materials search the Worldwide Patents database.
* Worldwide Patents contains the full collection of the EPO plus patent information from approximately 50 countries including Japan. Click on the ? (help) button to the right of the title and follow through to "Coverage of the database" for a list of countries and years represented.
* Japanese Patents contains information on Japanese patents from 1976 to the current year. Patent "front page" images are available from 1980 on.