THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.
LOCATION: ZOOM | Eastern Standard Time (EST)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST | ACSA OPENING PLENARY
12:00 PM – 12:50 PM EST | WELCOME AND ICEBREAKER SESSION
SPEAKERS: Lucy Campbell (AASL President), Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez (AASL Vice President)
10 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
MODERATOR: Vanessa Viola
1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST | CONFERENCE PAPERS: EXPANDING BORDERS (OUTREACH)
SPEAKERS: Tess Colwell, Jessica Quagliaroli | Emilee Mathews | Mark Pompelia, Margot McIlwain Nishimura
Title: Navigating Library Liaison Relationships through Collaboration.
Presenters: Tess Colwell, Jessica Quagliaroli (Yale University)
Building liaison relationships with architecture school faculty and students can be a challenging and slow process. For the Haas Family Arts Library and Manuscripts and Archives Department at Yale University, building a foundation based on collaboration has proven useful for establishing and maintaining liaison relationships with the School of Architecture. It is a multi-prong approach to collaborative work at Yale, including instruction, outreach, and reference and referral. This presentation will include a review of the collaborative outreach strategy and how the strategy was adapted to meet the needs of the remote learning environment.
Tess Colwell is the Arts Librarian for Research Services at Yale University’s Robert B. Haas Arts Library, where she serves as a liaison to the School of Art and School of Architecture, coordinates Arts Library Digital Services, and facilitates access and discovery of arts-related digital collections. Before coming to Yale, she was the Digital Projects Archivist at Brooklyn Historical Society, where she managed the existing digital assets, facilitated ingest of born-digital collections, and oversaw the digitization of collection materials. Tess earned her B.S. in Visual Communication from Ohio University, an M.A. in Humanities from Hood College, and most recently an M.L.I.S from St. John’s University.
Jessica Quagliaroli is the Architecture Records Archivist at Yale University. She previously worked as an archivist at the Architect of the Capitol. Her current position focuses on the arrangement and description of architectural archival collections, outreach and instruction to Yale School of Architecture faculty and students, and research and reference services to faculty, students, and researchers outside of the Yale community. She is an active member and current co-chair of the Design Records Section of the Society of American Archivists.
Measuring Demographics of Architecture Firm Leadership: A Comparative Study across Four Leading Trade Publications
Presenter(s): Emilee Mathews (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
In December 2018, The New York Times published an opinion piece called “Where are all the Female Architects?” In this article, author Allison Arief briefly details the current dearth of representation for women in architecture, citing the statistic that 50% of architecture students are women; yet only 20% are licensed architects). She highlights the conundrum of changing a culture to be more inclusive of women, while still struggling to retain women in the field. Meanwhile, the Directory of African American Architects highlights an even more disturbing percentage: that only .4% of licensed architects are African American women--that is, 500 in a field of 116,000. We must ask ourselves: How is this reflected in architecture libraries? Are our collections reaffirming the status quo or challenging architecture to do better? Architecture libraries can help spur this much needed shift, through highlighting current materials in their collections - and intentionally increasing that number - to increase students’ awareness of the contributions of women architects. At the Ricker Library of Architecture and Art, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, we have embarked on a project to assess our collections for representation of women in architecture fields, using a variety of tools drawn from print reference to online resources. We have narrowed our focus to measure which firms are represented in four leading trade publications. This presentation will document our process, provide data and initial analysis, to generate takeaways for other architecture librarians to consider how they can work towards increased representation of women in their research collections. This project has implications not only for collection management and development, but also for outreach, teaching, and donor relations.
Emilee Mathews is the Head of Ricker Library of Architecture & Art at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. Prior to arriving at Illinois, Emilee has held several positions, including interim head of the Fine Arts Library at Indiana University, and Research Librarian for Art & Visual Studies at the University of California, Irvine. Emilee currently serves as chair of the Strategic Directions Committee for the Art Libraries Society of North America, the leading professional organization for art librarianship. She was also a lead grant writer and team leader on a 2015/2016 National Endowment for the Humanities grant entitled “Piloting Linked Open Data for Artists’ Books.” She is a graduate of the Indiana University dual degree program, with a Master’s in Library Science and a Master’s in History of Art. She earned her BA with honors in Art History from Portland State University.
Material Order SEARCH: a discovery tool to expand access to materials collections
Presenter(s): Mark Pompelia; Margot McIlwain Nishimura (Rhode Island School of Design)
Material Order is the academic consortium of design-based materials collections at Harvard University, Rhode Island School of Design, and for two years while funded, Parsons School of Design. In partnership since 2011, member schools acknowledged the world of materiality to be dauntingly large for any one collection to represent, describe, or automate; they sought to combine efforts to enhance collections and description, and expand access via a rich and complementary partnership. Material Order provides a community-based approach to management and access to material collections utilizing and developing standards and best practices. In 2016 Material Order developed the CollectionSpace Materials Profile that serves as a shared cataloging tool. Hundreds of authority records have been created and shared; thousands of material object records have been entered utilizing those authorities — collections with expanded access achieved through a shared catalog. Open searching across all collections occurs via an open front-end discovery system built with Wordpress, a publicly available tool called Material Order SEARCH that was launched in fall 2019 and allows for metrics that include number of visitors, number of searches, etc. Nearly three thousand material sample records and related media files now publish to SEARCH to enhance finding and selecting materials for research, study, and application. The Material Order data configuration proved such a unique test case and the development of the SEARCH browser plug-in so successful that CollectionSpace now offers browser-based searching to all its hosted collections. This presentation will describe the evolution of the project and its milestones with a focus on the development of the Material Order site with its federated search tool and future hosting of research-level resources.
Mark Pompelia is the Visual + Material Resources Librarian at Rhode Island School of Design where he oversees the non-text collections that include digital image subscriptions, a materials samples collection that is part of a shared database and search portal; and the school's institutional repository. He held similar positions at The Ohio State University and Rice University. He holds a Bachelor's Degree in History of Art from OSU and a Master's Degree in Library and Information Science from Kent State University. He is active in Art Libraries Society of North America and Visual Resources Association and has presented at ARLIS/NA, ARLIS/Australia-New Zealand, ARLIS/UK-Ireland, The Digital Initiatives Symposium, Electronic Resources & Libraries, OCLC Library Futures, the Texas Digital Library, and Visual Resources Association, among others. His co-authored chapter on materials libraries for the 2nd edition of the Handbook of Art and Design Librarianship was published in October 2017.
Margot Nishimura is an art historian with two decades of experience in teaching, curatorial practice and administration in museums, libraries, and special collections. An expert in the fields of medieval, Renaissance and American art, architecture, decorative arts, and the history of the book, she also has a demonstrated record of directing cross-disciplinary collaborations, fundraising, and grants. As dean of libraries, Nishimura provides leadership for the Fleet Library, the Nature Lab, the Center for Arts & Language, and Campus Exhibitions. Previously she served as director of museums at the Newport Restoration Foundation (NRF). She was deputy director and librarian at Brown University’s John Carter Brown Library. At RISD Nishimura previously served as a lecturer in the Department of Art History and director of academic planning and assessment in the Office of Academic Affairs. She has also worked at Smith College, Mount Holyoke College, the Getty Museum, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
2:30 PM – 3:50 PM EST | VENDOR SHOWCASE LIGHTNING TALKS
10 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
LOCATION: ZOOM PRE-RECORDED | LIVE Q & A
MODERATOR: Jeff Alger
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM EST | LIGHTNING TALKS SESSION
SPEAKERS: Richard Saladino | Ika Jorum | Amy Trendler | Danielle Reay | Michelle Amirkhanian | Cathryn Copper, Edward Becker
Process Improvement Methodologies in Finding Value of Book Donations
Presenter: Richard Saladino, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
As the newly appointed Art, Architecture & Design Librarian at the Architecture Studies Library (ASL), University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), there was a substantial book donation (roughly 500-600 items) that was previously accepted and in need of processing. In efforts to understand the value of book donations for the future, Lean process improvement methodologies and selection/retention criteria were applied to the workflow process. The goal was to establish a one-piece-flow process and eliminate wastes (i.e. Lean process improvement defines as any action that doesn't add value) as the workflow goes from student assistants adding bibliographic/holdings information to the decision-making of the librarian. The hopeful outcome is to decide whether to continue to accept book donations as a future endeavor based on statistical evidence.
Richard Saladino holds both a BA in Psychology and a MA in Counseling from Chapman University located in Southern California. In 2018, he obtained his MSIS degree from the University of North Texas, with a focus on archival studies/imaging technologies, and Graduate Academic Certificate (GAC) in archival management. Throughout Richard’s graduate work at University of North Texas, he also interned at the Marjorie Barrick Museum of Art on the UNLV campus, where he initiated the archival program, which features the Art-Press collection. At the start of 2019, Richard became the Art, Architecture & Design Librarian at the UNLV Libraries, including overseeing the Architecture Studies Library. As the Art, Architecture & Design Librarian, Richard collaborates with both the School of Architecture and Department of Art to review services, programs and collections to meet the current diverse needs of the UNLV community.
Escape the Room – introduction to the library for first-year architecture students
Presenter: Ika Jorum, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
This presentation will share experiences on the implementation of Escape Room as a playful, active learning introduction to the library for first-year architecture students. An overall aim with the library instructions are to encourage students to develop a reflective approach to learning. Activities that engage students in active learning give them opportunities to analyze and reflect while they are performing their tasks and thereby develop skills on a deeper level than just remember where to find certain kind of information. The objective of this initiative is to design an “active information literacy instruction” in order to motivate the students and let them take part in their own learning process instead of more passively be introduced to the library.
The presentation will tell about the collaboration between the library and the School of Architecture and in what way the introduction is aligned to the intended learning outcome for the course. It will also share ideas on improvements according to the results of the evaluation. According to the evaluation, the students were positive to this kind of “active information literacy instruction”. They found it a “fun”, “pedagogical”, “challenging” way of learning about the library building and where they can find different kind of relevant material. The students liked to learn in an active way instead of just listen to a more traditional lecture. An effect of the teamwork is that the students learned from each other and learned to know each other.
Ika Jorum is the teaching librarian at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden. She is responsible for the instructions for students at the School of Architecture.
Near/Far: Supporting Off-Campus Architecture Library Users
Presenter: Amy Trendler, Ball State University
Usually built around studio education, architecture programs typically offer librarians an engaged, on-site audience. Except sometimes the students and faculty are not on site. Whether it is a semester away, online classes, or a center in another location, the architecture library can support off-site students and faculty by opening up collections and services. With a little ingenuity existing services can be adapted for off-site users, and with a little creativity the print collection can be made to work for off-campus classes. In this presentation I will outline the short-term and long-term planning for how the Architecture Library at Ball State University can support off-campus classes and I will share some of our successes and challenges in designing services and collections for an off-campus center.
Amy Trendler is the Architecture Librarian at Ball State University, where she supports student and faculty research in the College of Architecture and Planning. Before joining the University Libraries staff she worked with researchers, curators, and interns as a librarian at the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries at the Art Institute of Chicago. Amy holds master’s degrees in art history and library and information science from the University of Illinois.
Visualizing the Campus
Presenter: Danielle Reay,
This talk provides an overview of a virtual reconstruction project on campus architecture, specifically Drew University's no longer extant Cornell Library. Working from primary source documentation from the University's special collections and archives, our project seeks to not only better understand the physical space of the library by modeling the structure, but also provides a framework from which this exercise can be incorporated into architecture history course assignments with an eye towards building digital literacies, research skills, and sharpening an understanding of architectural representations.
Danielle Reay is the Digital Scholarship Technology Manager and Arts & Art History Librarian at Drew University. Danielle previously worked as the Architecture, Art, and Design Library Specialist at NJIT, and Arts Librarian for Digital and Access Services at Yale with liaison responsibilities to the Architecture Department. She holds an MA in Cinema Studies from NYU and an MLIS with a digital libraries concentration from Rutgers University.
Library x Maker Tools: A Partnership and a Portal to Facilitate Access
Presenter(s): Cathryn Copper, Edward Becker, Virginia Tech
Libraries are in a unique position to provide access to information beyond what is traditionally expected. Partnerships between architecture faculty and librarians provide a dual insight into the information needs of the community and collaborative methods to increase access to this information. One such need identified at Virginia Tech, was to corral information related to tools and technology available for student use, and work toward cementing the library as a place to move seamlessly between the digital and physical for creative practice.
Exploring information access through a collaborative lens, this talk showcases the development of a portal to facilitate student access to digital and physical maker tools in the School of Architecture + Design. The portal is a result of a faculty/librarian collaboration to provide a central place to navigate the equipment and technology housed in six different locations on and off campus. The talk will unpack how the project was initiated, executed, and rolled out to the School community, and cover the database model implemented to ensure a smooth transition in management. The co-presenters will conclude by laying out methods for improvement and a future vision for the online platform."
Cathryn Copper works at the intersection of libraries and art, architecture, and design. She has produced and collaborated on projects that range from using technology as reference and teaching tools to collaborative approaches to architecture education. Her current research examines the design of learning environments and new ways to advance the field of librarianship. In 2020, her talk on the use of artificial intelligence and augmented reality in libraries at SXSW EDU was featured as one of the “biggest and most pressing ideas.
Edward Beckeris an Assistant Professor of Architecture at Virginia Tech and co-founder of the Finnish architectural investment firm Vör (Vör Architecture + Vör Capital Investments AB). His most recent research stems from his involvement with Aalto University’s Digital Design Laboratory and explores the role of cognitive load mitigation in introductory digital design education and offers pedagogical strategies to increase the learning efficiency of novices in digital design contexts. He holds a Master of Architecture, with Distinction, from Harvard University, where he was awarded the Outstanding Research and Design Prize in Housing (JCHS), a National Honor Award in Residential Design (ASLA), and an ASF Fellowship, among other awards. He has also worked for MAD Architects in Beijing and WEarchitecture in Copenhagen on large cultural and institutional projects.
Symbolism of Architecture’s Exposure during the Fight for Social Justice: How History and Academia, in Virginia, Were Distressed, Devastated, Deconstructed
Presenter: Michelle Amirkhanian, AASL/ Treasurer
This lightning talk will address the “Exploring interdisciplinary collaborations between architecture and allied disciplines in university libraries, classrooms, and digital spaces.” The historic southern state of Virginia’s college and universities dating back to our drafting of the U.S. Constitution; the normalcy of slavery; and the evidence of this is still in existence in the 21st century; consequently, came to a climax in 2020. Calls for social justice represented by roads, such as Monument Avenue made of cobblestones since the beginning of the city’s birth and colonial homes, and plantations still in existence and historic sites that held slaves at bay during 18th century. In addition, the best quality education programs, such as University of Virginia, in Charlottesville, VA have a central building being an architecturally classical style constructed library as opposed to a church during this era. Equity and excellence are essential for our students, who are our future, to make it in this world as citizens of compassion for each other's viewpoints, cultures, and respect. I think COVID-19 has catalyzed in the long run change for us to ensure social justice and equity for all. Our libraries as provided in my presentation on Virginia's history are the first steps and leaps and bounds for students to be able to see the world outside of family and school, yet read about the question. It is our librarian's job to instill lifelong learning, understanding, and excellence representing one's community under the macro lens of the world. Also, to prepare them to choose, find, and be motivated to fulfill their purpose in this world and at the level of being global citizens.
Michelle Amirkhanian earned her degree in History from Virginia Commonwealth University (BA,’04) and her MSLIS from The Catholic University of America (CUA, '07) located in Washington, DC. Her work has been freelancing, involvement in her new community in Carmel by the Sea, such as being a Board member of World Affairs Council Monterey Bay, serving on the All Saints' Vestry, currently, Treasurer of AASL, and serving as an Ambassador of the Carmel Chamber of Commerce. Certified in numerous programs through the Harvard Graduate School of Education; earning two certificates from the Harvard Business School; in professional education at Georgetown University’s McCourt School of Public Policy earning completion of a few certificates, such as Education Finance; in addition, from Cornell’s School of Continuing Education earning numerous certificates as well. Travels to Jerusalem and Paris partaking in a pilgrimage and attending Sorbonne Universite-Paris, respectively during the past summer have influenced views on architecture, education, and world matters and operations.
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM EST | ACSA RESEARCH SESSION
LOCATION: ZOOM | Eastern Standard Time (EST)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST | AASL MEMBERSHIP AND BUSINESS MEETING
SPEAKERS: Lucy Campbell (AASL President)
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
12:30 PM – 1:45 PM EST | VIRTUAL TOUR [TENTATIVE]
Presentation Tour: National Building Arts Center (NBAC) or the divided city or urban planning and social justice in St. Louis.
Your guide is Michael Allen, an urban and architectural historian who teaches in the graduate architecture programs at Washington University in St. Louis and directs the Preservation Research Office. Allen founded the Department of Walking as a vehicle for engaging the ways in which social struggles and political change is encoded in the built environment of cities like St. Louis.
Accessibility: Virtual Presentation Tour + Q & A
15 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
LOCATION: ZOOM LIVE
MODERATOR: Megan Macken
2:00 PM – 2:50 PM EST | CONFERENCE PAPERS: OPEN COLLECTIONS (COLLECTION ACCESS)
SPEAKERS: David Eifler | Manuela Aronofsky, Maggie Portis, Ella Milliken Detro | Paula Farrar
The Essentiality of Print in the Neoliberal Era
Presenter: David Eifler, University of California, Berkeley
The COVID-19 pandemic forced the rapid closure of academic libraries and a quick pivot to virtual reference, instruction and access to scholarly materials. Reinforcing an evolving preference for electronic over print materials, the pandemic has bolstered existing neoliberal tendencies to externalize costs; de-emphasize subject expertise and de-skill librarians; and facilitate the consolidation of selection and production of academic materials in the hands of an ever-decreasing number of publishers. From the vantage of Naomi Klein’s Shock Doctrine and John Bushman’s Dismantling the Public Sphere, this presentation reasserts the importance of expanding our print collections in order to retain ownership, promote marginalized voices, and allow librarian – vs. corporate – discretion over access and distribution.
David Eifler is the University of California, Berkeley’s Environmental Design Librarian and provides collection and liaison services to architecture, landscape architecture, sustainable design, urban studies and city and regional planning. He has a Masters in City and Regional Planning and is an active member of the University Council of the American Federation of Teachers (UC-AFT).
Weeding ‘Wright’ : Engaging Graduate Students in a Meaningful Collection Development Process
Presenter(s): Manuela Aronofsky, The Berkeley Carroll School, Maggie Portis, Pratt Institute, Ella Milliken Detro, SFMOMA
In our 2021 conference paper presentation we will describe a weeding/de-duping project that took place over two years at Pratt Institute Libraries in Brooklyn, NY. This project had a number of positive outcomes: 1) a complex and long-term project, it took advantage of the expertise of Graduate Assistants (GAs) (students at Pratt’s School of Information) and meaningfully engaged them and real-world library work; 2) increased the accessibility of the circulating architecture collection by decreasing confusion related to multiple editions/copies of identical works, and bringing a large number of titles out of the Special Collections and into the circulating stacks; and 3) established and documented a complex workflow and clear set of policies that can be replicated in other sections of the library. Although the project we will discuss addressed the architecture section specifically (Dewey range 720-729), it was developed within the context of a larger effort at Pratt Institute Libraries to develop a sustainable practice of ongoing collection management/weeding throughout the collection.
This project was designed through an iterative process, in which Graduate Assistants (who are also MLIS students) collaborated with the Art and Architecture librarian to shape and continually adjust project goals, processes and priorities. This allowed the GAs to meaningfully engage with the project and develop skills through real-world experience: they were able to apply theoretical concepts related to collection management and development, and gain subject-specific knowledge related to architecture. Utilizing GAs for these types of projects is a win-win: they get to take part in a meaningful and educational project, while only requiring a small amount of the supervising librarian’s time.
Manuela Aronofsky is the Middle School Technology Integrator at The Berkeley Carroll School, in Brooklyn, New York. She earned her MLIS from Pratt Institute in December 2019 and worked as a graduate assistant at the Pratt Institute Libraries from January 2018-December 2019.
Maggie Portis is the Design and Architecture Librarian at the Pratt Institute Libraries.
Ella Milliken Detro is the Library and Archives Collections Coordinator at SFMOMA. She earned her MLIS from Pratt School of Information in May 2019 and worked as a graduate assistant at Pratt Institute Libraries October 2017-June 2019.
The Short AND Long Roads to Open: A Tale of Two Schools
Presenter: Paula Farrar, University of British Columbia
In 2007, the University of British Columbia launched its Institutional Repository (IR) cIRcle. Within that first year, the School of Community & Regional Planning (SCARP) jumped at the opportunity to be an early adopter of the new IR and transitioned from the paper deposit of their master level graduating projects into the Library to their digital deposit into cIRcle. This however, was not the case for the School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture (SALA). With reservations regarding copyright for image heavy projects, as well as a predilection for print, the transition to digital deposit only became a reality for SALA in the spring of 2019. This presentation will outline the various successes, failures, detours and unexpected opportunities along the way, on these two very different roads to make the graduating projects from these UBC schools openly available.
Paula Farrar has worked at the University of British Columbia Library since graduating with her MLIS from UBC in 2005. She has been the liaison librarian to the School of Community & Regional Planning since 2006 and to the School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture since 2014. She is currently also serving as the Interim Head of UBC's Music, Art & Architecture Library.
LOCATION: ZOOM LIVE | Eastern Standard Time (EST)
MODERATOR: Keli Rylance
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM EST | PANEL DISCUSSION I: LIBRARIAN/ARCH. FACULTY COLLABORATION
The New Jersey Institute of Technology’s Littman Library: Active Agent for Positive Change in the Hillier College of Architecture and Design
PANELISTS: Maya Gervits, John Cays, Gernot Riether, College of Architecture and Design, New Jersey Institute of Technology
As curricular offerings evolve to meet professional architectural education's changing needs, Architecture and Design Libraries continue to play a critical trusted partner role in delivering a complete educational experience to students, supporting faculty research and scholarship, and a facilitator as well as both convener and chronicler of continuous curricular development and change. This holds for all modes of instructional delivery even and perhaps especially under difficult COVID -19 conditions. As student expectations for University education continue to increase, the library provides a locus for meaningful and memorable academic experiences outside the design studio and classroom. It is a center that simultaneously builds information literacy skills for students and convenes discussions around curricular innovation, testing and piloting new technology and techniques for faculty in specialized labs. The current 2020 Conditions and Procedures for architecture accreditation requires "evidence that each student learning outcome...is developed and assessed on a recurring basis." More than a repository for the documents memorializing curricular developments in a program, the Littman Library is an active partner in maintaining the Hillier College's culture of self-assessment and continuous improvement. Following the Library Director’s case study presentation of the NJIT libraries, we propose to discuss some specific ways NJIT's Littman Architecture and Design Library is integral to the ongoing life and success of the Hillier College of Architecture Design and its patrons.
Maya Gervits has been the Director of the Littman Library at the Hillier College of Architecture and Design at New Jersey Institute of Technology for more than 18th years. Prior to that she worked as a curator at the Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia, as the Western Art Bibliographer and a lecturer at Princeton University, and as Art Librarian at Rutgers University. In addition to an MLS, Maya holds a Ph.D. in art and architectural history. She is interested in various aspects of librarianship and digital scholarship. Her research in both fields has been presented at multiple conferences and resulted in two books and numerous articles.
John Cays is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Interim Director of the School of Art + Design in NJIT's Hillier College and a licensed professional architect. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of the Arts and Master of Architecture degree from Princeton University. Prior to co-founding GRADE Architects in 2001, he was a project manager at Robert A.M. Stern Architects. Since 2005 he has been responsible for overseeing the development and use of “Kepler,” NJIT’s transparent digital repository, course management and curricular assessment system. In 2008, Kepler served as the engine behind the nation's first fully digital NAAB accreditation visit. John’s own research focuses on the visualization, adoption and use of quantitative Life Cycle Assessment methodologies in the design fields. He was 2014-17 North East Regional Director for the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture and Is currently a Director on the National Architectural Accrediting Board.
Gernot Riether is the Director of the School of Architecture and Associate Professor at the College of Architecture and Design at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). Riether’s research explores the relationship between public urban spaces and information technology. Projects that he and his students designed and built in his Digital Design Build Studio won competitions and are featured in many books on digital fabrication. Riether is the author of over 40 refereed papers, articles and book chapters; his most recent book, titled URBAN MACHINES, Public Space in a Digital Culture was co-authored with Marcella Del Signore. Riether previously taught at Kennesaw State University, Ball State University, ENSA Paris La Villette, Georgia Tech, the New York Institute of Technology and Barnard College at Columbia University. He serves on the Board of Directors of CSU (Consortium for Sustainable Urbanization), a non-profit organization that is affiliated with UN Habitat and the United Nations.
How to Tell Stories with Numbers: Tracking Faculty Research Output in Architecture
Presenter: Catherine Essinger, University of Houston
One way to gauge the impact of scholarly output is by tracking how often it has been cited by others. Citation tracking has long been a significant measurement for scholars in the sciences and social sciences, but it does not lend itself to architectural scholarship. While professors of architecture can use traditional citation metrics to track impact, they can also make use of alternative metrics that are better suited to the output of working architects. Librarians can play an important role in educating instructors about tracking options and help them develop a plan for organizing tracked data. This session will provide an overview of tracking metrics for architectural scholars and suggest opportunities for librarian support.
Catherine Essinger has been the director of the William R. Jenkins Architecture, Design, and Art Library for 15 years. She is a past President of the Association of Architecture School Librarians and past Executive Board member of the Art Libraries of North America. She has published articles in Bright Lights Film Journal, Cite, Collaborative Librarianship, and Texas Library Journal. Her forthcoming book, The Sudden Selector's Guide to Art Resources, is being published by the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services.
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM EST | TRIVIA SESSION
HOST: David Eifler, Nicole Santiago (Programming Committee)
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
6:00 PM – 7:00 PM EST | AWARDS PLENARY AND TOPAZ KEYNOTE
11:00 AM – 12:15 PM EST | VIRTUAL TOUR [TENTATIVE]
The Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park is in Kirkwood, Missouri.
Nestled in grassy fields on 10.5 acres in Kirkwood, Missouri, the Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park is a unique and significant residence designed by the legendary architect. It was Wright’s first building in the St. Louis area, and is one of only five Wright designs in Missouri. It is an excellent example of Wright’s democratic vision, intended to provide middle-class Americans with beautiful architecture at an affordable cost. The home is notable not only for its architectural integrity, but for retaining its original furnishings and fabrics. With a floor plan composed of two intersecting parallelograms, it is considered one of Wright’s most geometrically complex homes. The home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
15 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
LOCATION: ZOOM LIVE
MODERATOR: Diane Lopez
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM EST | CONFERENCE PAPERS: INNOVATIVE INSTRUCTION
Authority Construction: Engaging Students in Architectural Publication Practices
SPEAKERS: Sara Schumacher, Texas Tech University
Students struggle to identify and critically evaluate creators of architectural information, as well as, to assertively disseminate their own creations to the larger academic and practice-based architectural community. This paper explores how architecture librarians can craft instructional activities and research resources to unpack the ways that architects, scholars, and the publishing industry construct authority in the discipline. Library instructional examples will pull from lower and upper levels courses covering topics like voices which are and are not included in architectural publications, guidelines for credit and attribution, and writing styles in trade versus academic journals. The presentation will also explore how librarians can create resources, displays, and social media campaigns that reinforce and expand on these learning goals while drawing attention to social justice topics and emerging architectural information outlets. In order impactfully share their thoughts and creations, students need to be able to deconstruct the current landscape of architectural publishing and find models to cultivate their own authoritative voice. Prefers to pre-record presentation w/ ability to participate in a live Q&A
Sara Schumacher is the Architecture Image Librarian at Texas Tech University, where she curates TTU Arch Design Images and provides instruction on information and visual literacy topics. Schumacher received her BA in Art History from the University of Texas at Austin (2005), MA in Art History from the University of Oregon (2007) and her MS in Information Studies from the University of Texas at Austin (2011). Schumacher is the Vice President for Conference Program for the VRA (2018-2020) and a member of the Visual Literary Task Force to update the ACRL Visual Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education (2018-present). Her research interests include ethics and visual media and applying visual literacy ideas to discipline specific conventions and professional applications.
The Virtual Site Visit: From Studio to Library Collections
Presenter: Johanna Kasubowski, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Using the shift to remote teaching and learning as an opportunity to create new resources with longevity, the “Virtual Site Visit” project was an initiative of the Harvard Graduate School of Design’s Innovation Task Force. The site visit is considered a core component of design studio pedagogy, which was impossible with COVID-related travel restrictions. The “Virtual Site Visit” considered new ways of undertaking site research without the physical visit of students.
In addition to elevation and plan data, historical research, and drones, there remained a desire to capture the site “on the ground,” to gain a better sense of the site as a place. The idea behind the project was that site video documentation could serve as a substitute for in-person site visits. Providing students access to the video would enable them to construct their own “narrative” of how they might interpret the site. The Frances Loeb Library was asked to be involved in this project as faculty acknowledged an additional motivation behind the project: if site documentation were to be cataloged properly, the media captured as part of a virtual site visit would become part of library collections, which the library would steward to support current and future research.
The Frances Loeb Library supported the Virtual Site Visit Video Pilot for two fall 2020 studios: Urban Design’s core studio and Elements of Urban and Extreme Urbanism (7), Imaging an Urban Future for Ishkashim, Afghanistan. The paper will present the role of the library as a key collaborator in the evolution of a fast-paced pilot project. In an effort to create a sustainable and scalable service model, the project required defining roles of all stakeholders, understanding equipment and video capture recommendations, developing easy to use approaches to metadata, GPS data considerations, and exploration of potential delivery systems.
Johanna Kasubowski is the Frances Loeb Library Materials and Media Collections Librarian at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD). Johanna has diverse experience in several aspects of library operations that range from image cataloging, digitization, metadata schema development, public service, research support, collection development, public programming, and project management. She is a founding member of Material Order, a design materials consortium, where she was involved in the development of the CollectionSpace Materials Profile and the CollectionSpace Public Browser – both tools that serve the management and discovery of the GSD and Rhode Island School of Design’s material collections. She has a Master of Science in Library and Information Science from Simmons College and a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of Michigan.
Virtual Reality Artist in Residence Program: Exploring Outreach and Learning for Architecture Students with Innovative Technology
Presenter(s): James Murphy, Christie Hurrell, University of Calgary
In the 2019/20 academic year, the presenters collaborated on a pilot Virtual Reality Artist in Residence program, engaging Art and Architecture students in the medium of virtual reality to enhance their learning and creative project work. This presentation will discuss how the program was created, the project collaborators, the technology involved, and the results of the pilot program. In addition to the positive reception from the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape, the Architecture student artist-in-residence took the opportunity further than we anticipated, adding not only an innovative project to his portfolio but vastly expanding his skillset in virtual reality through self study and support from the Library’s Emerging Technology Specialist. The Taylor Family Digital Library is the central library of the University of Calgary, housing 6 floors of collections, student space, specialized services, a Student Success Centre, and technology supporting student and faculty projects. Lab NEXT is the technology hub of UCalgary Libraries which incorporates visualization, a makerspace, virtual reality, repositories, digitization, and other services. This presentation will include an overview of the VR technology and spaces used for the program and currently available in Taylor Family Digital Library. This project involved a strong collaborative effort between the Architecture Liaison Librarian, the Director of Lab NEXT, the Emerging Technology Specialist, as well as the inaugural VR Artists in Residence. We look forward to sharing our findings and gathering input for future development of this impactful program and its relevance to expanding the library’s role in technology facilitation and learning for Architecture students.
James Murphy is the Art & Architecture Librarian at the Taylor Family Digital Library, University of Calgary, where he is liaison librarian for art, art history, architecture, planning and landscape. He also works in Student Learning and Engagement, where he designs and coordinates library programming and learning opportunities for students. He has worked in libraries in both Alberta and British Columbia and received his MLIS in 2016 from the University of British Columbia.
Christie Hurrell is the Director, Lab NEXT at the University of Calgary. Her role involves advancing digital research initiatives and partnerships, working on scholarly communication and open education initiatives, and coordinating Lab NEXT, the library’s digital scholarship collaboration space and makerspace. Christie’s research and practice interests stem from her interest in new ways of sharing and tracking the impact of research. Christie has an MA in Communications and Culture from Ryerson and York Universities, and an MLIS from the University of British Columbia.
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
LOCATION: ZOOM LIVE
MODERATOR: Jillian Kehoe
2:00 PM – 2:50 PM EST | GROUP WORKSHOP
Expanded and Narrowed Boundaries of the COVID-19 Pandemic
SPEAKERS: Rose Orcutt, Buffalo University, Lucy Campbell, New School, Barbara Opar, Syracuse University, Maya Gervits, New Jersey Institute of Technology
“That’s so 2019” is a phrase heard in academic libraries these days. Indeed, the pandemic has required all librarians, including those supporting Schools of Architecture to quickly adapt to a different mindset and way of doing business, be it offering reference and instruction or selecting resources for collections. What is different? How are architecture librarians handling these challenges? In August 2020, a survey created at the University of Buffalo was sent out to architecture librarians and architecture faculty to capture the work life changes and challenges that were faced during the first months of COVID-19. The surveys captured responses about how libraries can best provide support for teaching and learning, where can they add value, what were the unique contributions, and what skills librarians need to develop to serve in the new environment. The survey results will be shared in the presentation and serve as a springboard to facilitate further discussion on the additional challenges architecture librarians faced during fall 2020. Through the use of Zoom polling features or interaction web software such as Mentimeter, conference participants will respond to questions concerning budget restrictions in collection development, the quality of their collections after COVID, best practices that emerged from the pandemic restrictions, etc. These responses will be collected and shared with the attendees to offer solutions to COVID related challenges.
Rose Orcutt is the Architecture & Planning Librarian at the University at Buffalo. She was President of the Association of Architecture School Librarians in 2019, took part in the 2016-2019 Strategic Planning Committee, and is a part of the Core Periodical List revision committee.
Lucy Campbell is Librarian at the New School of Architecture and Design in San Diego California. She currently serves as President of the Association of Architecture School Librarians and co-editor of the association’s monthly column for ACSA. She is interested in information seeking habits for the creative disciplines and technology as research in architecture and design.
Barbara Opar serves as an embedded librarian for the School of Architecture. She is active in the Association of Architecture School Librarians and has been President (2003), a board liaison, column and co-column editor and a member of both the Core Periodicals Review Task Force for the 4th and 5th editions as well as the Core Reference Works Task Force. She won the 2015 AASL Distinguished Service Award. She prepares the monthly Society of Architectural Historians Booklist and contributes to ARLIS/NA Reviews.
Maya Gervits has been the Director of the Littman Library at the Hillier College of Architecture and Design at New Jersey Institute of Technology for more than 18 years. Prior to that, she worked as a curator at the Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia, as the Western Art Bibliographer and a lecturer at Princeton University, and as Art Librarian at Rutgers University. In addition to an MLS, Maya holds a Ph.D. in art and architectural history. She is interested in various aspects of librarianship, digital scholarship, and architecture history. Her research in these fields has been presented at multiple conferences and resulted in two books and numerous articles. She is a recipient of the 2017 AASL Distinguished Service Award.
10 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
LOCATION: ZOOM LIVE
MODERATOR: George Smart
3:00 PM – 4:30 PM EST | PANEL DISCUSSION II: SPACES
Inside and Out: Investigations into the use of spaces both within and beyond our libraries’ walls
PANELISTS: Barbara Opar, Syracuse University, Martha Walker, Cornell University, Gilda Santana, University of Miami, Tina Budzise-Weaver and Pauline Melgoza, Texas A&M University
While COVID has impacted much of what librarians do today, space planning is still an important part of our work. Three panelists in this session will present project histories, descriptions and images pertaining to three recently renovated spaces, all of which support Schools of Architecture. In addition to outlining the overall goals of each project, the librarians will reflect upon and share their individual observations in response to their particular experience of the design/build process. The settings and histories of the libraries differ; the role of the library, however, and the goals of the librarians, remain closely aligned.
Since March 2020, these three libraries have undergone further adjustments with reducing seating capacities and new protocols. The panelists will summarize these changes in their remarks.
Next, two panelists will discuss their study, supported by a T3: Texas A&M Triads for Transformation Grant, to investigate how students in the Colleges of Architecture and Education & Human Development used their departmental spaces outside the library to study, and if these spaces were adequate to meet their needs. An overview will be given of the nuances and logistics of designing an ethnographic photo study, the challenges the study presented, and the findings from the data collected, highlighting the similarities and differences between how students use study spaces in their departments versus the university libraries. The panelists will also discuss how the Libraries and Colleges adjusted spaces during Covid-19 on the Texas A&M University campus.
Barbara Opar serves as an embedded librarian for the School of Architecture and is responsible for reference and information services, instruction and collection development for architecture students, faculty, and staff. She oversees the student staff and services of the King + King Architecture Library, 302 Slocum Hall. She is active in the Association of Architecture School Librarians and has been President (2003), a board liaison, column and co-column editor and a member of both the Core Periodicals Review Task Force for the 4th and 5th editions as well as the Core Reference Works Task Force. She won the 2015 AASL Distinguished Service Award. She prepares the monthly Society of Architectural Historians Booklist and contributes to ARLIS/NA Reviews.
Martha Walker, Architecture Librarian and Coordinator of Collections, Mui Ho Fine Arts Library. Martha has served in various capacities within the Cornell University Library system since 1990. Much of Martha’s time during the past nine years has been in helping to coordinate the movement of staff, services, and collections between three facilities in response to a long-term building program undertaken by the College of Architecture, Art, and Planning. In addition to her collections and public services responsibilities, Martha has served on multiple committees and participated in the activities of several professional associations, including her role as President of AASL (2015).
Gilda Santana is an Associate Librarian Professor at the University of Miami Libraries. She has been Head of the Paul Buisson Architecture Library, now the Architecture Research Center since her appointment in 2007. Since then, she has guided the growth of collections and research services for the School of Architecture and the Department of Art & Art History. She is an active member of the Association of Architecture School Librarians and the Art Libraries Association of North America.
Tina Budzise-Weaver is an Associate Professor and Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian at Texas A&M University. She is the liaison librarian to the Dance, Visualization, and Performance Studies Departments. Visualization is housed under the College of Architecture. Her research focuses on the underutilization of the Libraries, the barriers to access, and the creation of new services to address academic and professional success amongst her students, faculty, and fellow librarians. She holds a MS in Library and Information Science from the University of North Texas. Presenting on behalf of Dr. Sarel Lavy and former graduate student researcher Tiyamike Kunje, the College of Architecture T3 members.
Pauline Melgoza is an Associate Professor and Science & Engineering Librarian at Texas A&M University. She is the liaison librarian to the Architecture, Construction Science, Engineering Technology & Industrial Distribution and Landscape Architecture & Urban Studies Departments. Her research focuses on the discoverability and access issues of library and information sources. She holds a MS in Library and Information Science from the University of North Texas and a MS in Educational Human Resource Development from Texas A&M University.
30 MIN BREAK: FREE TIME
5:00 PM – 6:00 PM EST | HAPPY HOUR SESSION
OPEN TO ALL: THEME TBD Lucy Campbell, Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM EST | ACSA CLOSING PLENARY