Today's Hours
Click HERE to find more information about the Master of Architecture program at the Spitzer School.
Use OneSearch to look for books by title, author, and subject. You can narrow your search by using filters such as resource type and location.
Don't know exactly what you're looking for? No problem! Using keywords or subject headings can help you narrow down your research topic. These are a few examples of keyword searches related to architecture:
These subject headings are pretty broad and might yield too many results. For suggestions on narrower search terms, check out the Library of Congress website.
The Architecture Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system.
Architecture-related materials are primarily shelved by call numbers that begin with NA.
Other relevant call number ranges:
TH (building and construction)
NC (drawing and graphic arts)
NK (interior architecture and design)
GN (vernacular architecture)
E-F (historic preservation)
KF (architecture and law)
LB (buildings for education)
RA (hospital design), etc.
Library of Congress Architecture Call Numbers
Electronic books can be found using OneSearch like the example below.
You can also access eBooks from one of the following databases using your CCNY login.
Our physical collection of periodicals can be found in the lounge of the Architecture Library. Check OneSearch first to see if we have the journal or magazine you're looking for, or stop by and ask us!
If we don't have what you're looking for in print, you may be able to access it online through the following databases:
Databases provide access to all kinds of scholarly and popular resources including peer-reviewed journals, academic books, newspapers, and more. Visit a list of all the databases provided by CUNY and search the list by subject here.
Below are a few databases we would recommend for research in Architecture.
Originally created for fire insurance companies, Sanborn maps provide detailed information about buildings all over the US from the late nineteenth century to today. Find digitized collections from the Library of Congress and NYPL, and physical versions here in the Architecture Library.
Browse the NYPL's digital collection of historical photographs taken of public and residential buildings under construction from 1901-1935.
The University of Washington has compiled a database of images of buildings around the world. Search by location, architect, date of construction and architectural type.
One step in becoming a licensed architect is passing the Architect Registration Examination (A.R.E.). Developed by the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB), the current version, ARE 5.0, contains six divisions: Practice Management, Project Management, Programming & Analysis, Project Planning & Design, Project Development & Documentation, and Construction & Evaluation.
Completing ARE 5.0 by passing all six divisions is required by all U.S. jurisdictions as a key step on the path to earning a license.
Download the NCARB Handbook on Certification HERE
The following titles are located behind the circulation desk and are available for 2 hour loan.
Building Design and Construction Systems: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Building Systems: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Construction Documents and Services: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Programming, Planning and Practice: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Schematic Design: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Site Planning and Design: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Structural Systems: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam by 
Sanborn Maps