It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! While our physical spaces remain closed, the CCNY Libraries team is working remotely to make library resources and services available online.
This database contains basic biographical information on the heads of state of the five Central American countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua as well as the heads of state of the defunct Central American Federation.
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with the Department of Democratic and Political Affairs of the Organization of American States, and with the support of other institutions in the region. It offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections and more.
This Guide covers Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua and Panama. Each country contains a bibliography and a timeline with corresponding excerpts related to elections, political parties, events affecting elections, and an explanation of acronyms. There is also a general glossary of election terms. This resource is put together by Karen Lindvall-Larson, Latin American Studies Librarian at UCSD.
LAGDA contains copies of the web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies from 18 Latin American and Caribbean nations. It includes full-text versions of official documents; original video and audio recordings of key regional leaders; annual and "state of the nation" reports; plans and programs; and speeches by presidents and government ministers.