It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biomedical Engineering: FIND ARTICLES
This guide provides a set of resources, available through the CCNY's Library for beginning biomedical engineering research. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.
City College OneSearch combines in one searchable place three things: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose of a discovery service is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content while providing relevancy-ranked results in the type of intuitive interface that information seekers have come to expect.
To request an item, sign in using your CUNY single login credentials: (Firstname.LastnameXX@login.cuny.edu, where “XX” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID)
Ei Compendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 17 million records from 73 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is one of the 12 databases offered by Ei Engineering Village. Every record in Ei Compendex is carefully selected and indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus so engineers can be confident information is relevant, complete, accurate and of high quality. Ei Compendex has 3,800+ journals, 117 trade magazines, 80,000+ conference proceedings, 83 book series, and articles in press from 1,261 journals. Ei Backfile provides 1.78 million records from 1884-1969. Most of the material indexed is more appropriate for senior or higher level students and researchers, but some material (magazine articles, etc.) may be useful for lower level students and researchers. Set up a username and password with your City College email.
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus; includes all MEDLINE titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc.
PubMed provides access to complete bibliographic information from over 5,500. biomedical journals and magazines. Articles from other life sciences publications are also indexed if their content is appropriate. Subject coverage includes clinical and experimental medicine, as well as the basic biological sciences that support the medical sciences. While this database indexes primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed publication and is most appropriate for seniors or higher level students and researchers,
Part of Web of Science. This provides indexing and citation linking for over 6,650 journals in 150 scientific disciplines from 1899 through the present and includes cited reference searching capability.
The largest curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
Set up a username and password with your City College email. Click the "Find It at CUNY" button to link to the full text article if available.
FIND ARTICLES IN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL COLLECTIONS FULL-TEXT
BioMed Central is an open access publisher over 290 biology and medical journals. Most of the content is scholarly, peer-reviewed papers; however, many of the journals contain news and review articles of more general interest. Scientific review articles are generally not available for viewing. The database is useful for researchers at all levels.
IEL provides full text for the journals, transactions, & magazines of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (US) & the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK), as well as full text of conference papers of both IEEE and IET, plus IEEE standards. While the content is almost entirely scholarly peer-reviewed material, several magazines of more general interest are part of the database.
Over 1200 journals of the 1800 searchable titles are available as full text. All subject areas are covered, but more science and engineering titles are available because of Elsevier's publishing STM focus.
The SPIE Digital Library is an online database of scientific and technical publications representing the world's largest collection of research information in Optics and Photonics. It provides access to more than 370,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually. SPIE journals publish peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics. The SPIE eBooks are offered complimentary for one year.
ILL is used to obtain articles from journals not available at CCNY for purposes relating to: Research and Academic studies. Press the "FIRST TIME USERS CLICK HERE" button to continue. Register your ILLIAD domain by filling in this form: enter your EmplID Number, your Citymail/CCNY email, and choose your username and password.
City College OneSearch combines in one searchable place three things: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose of a discovery service is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content while providing relevancy-ranked results in the type of intuitive interface that information seekers have come to expect. USE ADVANCED SEARCH MODE PLEASE