Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

All CCNY Libraries are open as study space to fully vaccinated patrons with reservations. Make a reservation.

Most library resources and services will still be available online.

See updated information on remote and in-person services for Fall 2021 or find answers to frequently asked questions.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Political Science

Country Studies Series

Country Studies: Library of Congress (book-length studies)

  • Prepared  by the the Federal Research Division  and made available via the Library of Congress Website, "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."--Website.
  • Note: Many countries are not covered.
  • Questions about the series

Nation Master

NationMaster.com 

  • A central data source and way to graphically compare nations, generate maps and graphs with statistics. For example, click here for information on India.
  • Welcome to NationMaster, a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

    We want to be the web's one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from soldiers to wall plug voltages. -- Website

OECD

OECD Member Country Profiles

  • OECD resources focusing on a particular country (OECD member or not) can be found  at the Country Portal. Click here for topics.
  • OECD Factbook 2010: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics.  (Reference 330.9 Oe2 2010))
    The tables of the OECD are available online at www.sourceoecd.org/factbook

Country Briefings: News & Analysis by Country

The Economist Country Briefings  (The Economist, an international affairs publication)

  • "The website presents information and news on various countries, highlighting updated news, political and economic forecasts, providing a brief introduction to the country, its political and economic structure, laws, regulations and policies."  Useful link: Special reports categories.

Electronic Sources

Electronic Resources

Background Notes

Background Notes  (Produced by U.S. Department of State)

  • "Background Notes are factual publications that contain information on all countries of the world with which the United States has relations.  They include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States."  Emphasis on political conditions.  Find Background notes for India, Egypt, Ghana, and Malaysia.

World Bank Group

World Bank  (Countries & Regions--background information and reports on all countries of the world.

Browse by section: Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, South Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Latin America & The Caribbean, Middle East & North Africa. Country data and statistics included.  For more, click here.

World Bank eAtlas of Global Development

The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year. Watch our short video for a quick overview! --Website

This eAtlas, a new online companion to Atlas of Global Development, third edition, builds on the Atlas topics, allowing you to visualize and analyze a wider variety of data in greater depth, over a longer time period. You can

Map more than 175 World Bank indicators worldwide
Compare and view two maps simultaneously
Animate maps to show change over time
View all data in ranking tables and charts alongside maps
Export maps and data for use in presentations and more
Import your own data

World Data

World Data Analyst (Encyclopedia Britannica

Perform statistical comparisons between countries or explore changes over time.  Results can be placed in charts and graphs or be exported to a spreadsheet.  Users can also link to Compare Countries and World Atlas.

  • Use it to view country snapshots
  • Current comparison
  • Chronological l comparison by choose one or more country, choose only one statistic, compare statistics over a period of years
  • Ranked statistics
  • Content includes political information, area and population, demography, vital statistics, national economy, education and health, military, etc.

ELDS Country Profiles

Regional and Country Profiles 

  • A gateway to global development information on international development issues. Provides free and easy access to materials on developing countries ...

Lexis-Nexis Academic Database

LexisNexis Academic (Research Difference Countries )
The new landing page  includes an Easy Form Search Box.  The Research Countries category allows you to find political and economic information about a specific country.  You must select a country from the Country drop-down box and then select a specific source from the Source drop-down box.  Your can choose:

Sources are:

  • Business Monitor International (for International Company Information)
  • Country Briefings (economic briefings on politics, stock markets, etc. for 32 countries)
  • PRS Risk Guides and Service (international business risk analysis)
  • Walden Country Reports (basic country information , updated yearly)
  • Recent News Stories (news about the country selected).

British Broadcasting Assoication

BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)  News: Country Profile

  • Profiles provide an "instant guide" to news, history, politics, event timelines, and economic background of world countries.  Presents country overviews, basic facts, Web links, and details on leaders and media.  Includes news stories and audio videos clips from BCC Archive.

Washingtion Post & The Economist

Washington Post Country Information

  • Enter a world country name for news, background and web links. Recent news stories for each country published from the Washington Post.

ipl2

ipl2 (Regional and Country Information)

  • "ipl2: Information You Can Trust features a searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online texts, newspapers, ..."  Five hundred fifteen (534) sources listed. Browse by section: Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, South America, South Pacific.

World Data

WDI Online: World Development Indicators 2011

  • The World Development Indicators (WDI) publication is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. The 2010 WDI includes more than 800 indicators in over 90 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global LinksData can be exported in standard formats like Excel.*For Southwestern community only.  More information on WDI.
  • Print version of World Development Indicators 2011 located at Reference 330.9 W89 2009.  Older issues in Main Collection, 2nd floor of the library.

Histroical Guide to Countries