It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All CCNY Libraries are open as study space to fully vaccinated patrons with reservations. Make a reservation.
Most library resources and services will still be available online.
This online exhibit commemorates the Centennial of the CCNY campus, which was designed by George B. Post, and is considered one of the finest examples of neo-Gothic architecture at any academic institution in the United States.
These select pages highlight rare scientific monographs located in the City College Library’s Archives and Special Collections. The volumes on Astronomy, Mathematics, and Physics date from the late 16th century to the early 20th century and include titles from the Simon Newcomb Collection, which, at the time of its donation to the College by alumnus John Clafin in 1909, was considered to be one of the most notable collections on astronomy and mathematics. These volumes were on view in Spring 2005.
Architectural significance of new construction in the city - not just skyscrapers - was of enormous interest to purveyors of souvenirs to tourists. George Browne Post's Collegiate Gothic buildings for CCNY were 'picture perfect' for souvenirs.
The Morris R. Cohen Library Division of Archives and Special Collections is home to a hand-copied book or manuscript, produced during the European Middle Ages, possibly in Bavaria, the southern regions of Germany or the northern region of Italy, about 1450 C.E. It is a breviary, similar to a missal, a service book used by the priest for the celebration of the mass, including chants, prayers, and readings, together with ceremonial directions.
From the Free Academy Building (1849-1927) to the Adolph Lewisohn Stadium (1915-1973) and the John H. Finley Student Center (1847-1985) these buildings represent part of the architectural heritage of City College, one of the greatest American public educational institutions.
Morris Raphael Cohen (Class of 1900) was appointed an instructor in mathematics at City College in 1906 before transferring to the Department of Philosophy in 1912. He departed from City College in 1938 for the University of Chicago. This exhibit chronicles his career & achievements. Dr. Cohen met Dr. Albert Einstein when he visited City College in April 1921 and translated Dr. Einstein's remarks, see Panel 4. The research library of City College was dedicated in Dr. Cohen's honor in May 1958.
Based on an exhibit in the City College Libraries’ Archives and Special Collections in Fall 2005, commemorating the 150th anniversaey of the publication of the first edition of Walt Whitman’s "Leaves of Grass." The exhibit displayed photographs of Whitman and 1891 editions of "Leaves of Grass" that are in the Special Collections.