LibGuides: General Science and Technology: Databases

Databases

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Databases is a portal to 50+ databases providing indexing and abstracting for tens of thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, and reference sources in all areas of study. Many of these databases include full text articles. The academic level of the publications covered varies depending on the database, but the brief descriptions on the opening page will help you determine whether a particular database is appropriate for you.
Get the EBSCOhost Mobile Application for iPhone or Android at http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718 To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Science.Gov
A gateway to scholarly science & technology information from 14 scientific and technical organizations from 10 major U.S. government science agencies. Includes technical reports, journal citations, databases, federal websites, and fact sheets. For engineering and technical information, this site is best searched in the Advanced Search mode. Before entering any search, click Advanced Search. On the next screen, you can select which government agencies you wish to search.
Sweetearch
A search engine for students. Results are limited to about 35,000 authoritative, good-quality websites chosen by its staff of research experts and librarians.

Reference Librarian: Science/Engineering Library

Contact:

Science/Engineering Library
Room J-29, Marskak Science Building
City College of New York
Convent Ave. & 138 St.
New York, NY 10031
212-650-8243
Email me at: pbarnett@ccny.cuny.edu

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, General Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Physics