LibGuides: Public Health: Databases and Journals

There are 3 main ways to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles-- through a specific database, through a specific journal, or through CUNY's OneSearch catalog. On this page you will find details on accessing all three. Please see the Search Tips page for guidance on searching databases.

Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension for one click access to HTML and PDFs of articles available through CCNY libraries.

Not sure where to start? Have a look at CCNY Libraries' Research Toolkit.

Databases

Below is a list of some of the most commonly used databases and tools for Public Health related research. Please see the A-Z Databases Page for a full list of databases you have access to via CCNY Libraries.

If your research concerns public health policy or public health and the law, visit the HPAM page for more links to legal resources.

If your research concerns sexual and reproductive health and justice, visit the SRJ page for more links to data, legal, and organization resources.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central , and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' Web sites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html

MeSH
Search MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.

MEDLINE Ovid
MEDLINE Ovid searches same resources as MEDLINE Complete but allows for more precise advanced searches via filters & interface.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals. The U.S. government does not review or approve the safety and science of all studies listed on this website.
Europe PMC
Provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. Search and read 45.6 million publications, preprints, and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources. Hosted by EMBL’s European Bioinformatics Institute and partnered with PubMed Central.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus; includes all MEDLINE titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of scholarly articles from 22,000 peer-reviewed journals worldwide. The platform provides tools for advanced search, citation analysis and bibliometrics.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides indexing, back to 1937, for 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines, covering nearly 2000 journals. Includes everything found in the PsycARTICLES full-text database. Most of the publications covered are scholarly / peer-reviewed.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. The database contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. From Queens College.
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types. Especially useful in researching public health policies and public health and the law (e.g. HPAM 622).
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
The Sage Premiere package includes access to over 570 journals covering all disciplines.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

SciELO
A model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet, conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. The collection is continually updated and currently includes 630 scholarly peer reviewed journals, from Spain, Portugal, several South American countries and Cuba, which predominantly publish the results of original research, and other original works, and contribute significantly to knowledge in the area covered by the journal.
WHO: Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.

Libkey.io This link opens in a new window
A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (or PubMed IDentifier) search page for City College holdings at https://libkey.io/libraries/1271/
Libkey Nomad This link opens in a new window
Browser extension checks publisher sites for City College access. Combines information about CCNY e-journal holdings, authentication and article linking to deliver one-click access to PDF and HTML articles.

E Journals

If you are looking for a particular journal, follow the first link below to search a full list of the electronic journals available to you. The second link will take you straight to our health and biological sciences related journals. If you are already on CCNY's main OneSearch page, you can access Journal Search by clicking on "Journals by Title" in the "Research" dropdown menu.

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? OneSearch combines in one place three things: the CUNY library book catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content. Follow the link below to search OneSearch, but please note that your search might be better suited to subject-specific databases. There is no login required to use OneSearch.

CUNY OneSearch