LibGuides: English 210: Writing for Science: Databases

Database Box

Databases

For broad searches, search our Library Discovery Tool, OneSearch, for books and articles.

The individual databases that the Library subscribes to are subject or genre specific and offer a more curated search experience.

The following short list focuses offers two Science-focused resources - ScienceDirect & SpringerLink - and 3 more-broad databases with lots of peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals - Academic Search Complete & JSTOR. Also included are links to Google Scholar which links to CCNY subscriptions and Academic Video Online, a video database.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting to over 2,500 scholarly journals . Full text is available for 300 journals and 100,000 ebooks. The database covers all areas of study, but is weighted toward the sciences.
A SpringerLink mobile app for iPhone is available in the iTunes App Store. iTunes App Store.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of journals and primary sources that offers full-text to more than 2,300 journals.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Most searches return an assortment of citations, abstracts, and links to full text.
Academic Video Online (AVON Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) is a collection of 70,000 videos covering all academic interests. Videos are fully transcribed and indexed. Users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content in Blackboard.
Popular Channels Include:
1. Film Platform
2. American History
3. Anthropology
4. BBC Landmark
5. Black Studies
6. CNN
7. Counseling and Therapy
8. Documentaries
9. Music and Performing Arts
10. PBS
11. Science and Engineering
12. SONY Pictures Classics
Format: Streaming Videos