Classics: Greek & Latin Language and Literature

This research guide is intended to help you locate print and electronic resources accessible in the CCNY libraries, as well as from off-campus.

A site devoted to bringing the scholarly study of classical antiquity to a wider audience. The site contains on-line books and other materials.

Web resources put together by Classics Department at University of Oxford.

The about.com start page for ancient Greek is a handy guide to some basic introductory material for language learning.

An online dictionary including ancient Greek, as well as a link to learning Greek on a site closely affiliated with the government of the Republic of Cypress (Kypros-Net). You need to check the Ancient Greek box.

Provides texts and audio files of major Greek and Latin prose and poetry read by various scholars.

This site is intended for Dr. Robin Mitchell-Boyask's courses in Classical Mythology at Temple University. Others may find it useful and are welcome.

Hosted by Tufts University, the Perseus Digital Library contains full text editions of philosophy, history, and literature of the ancient Greek and Roman world. English translations and works in original languages are being added. It also contains its own searchable Encyclopedia and a hyperlinked Historical Overview.

Plato, Aristotle, Epictetus, Plotinus and others.

Part of a larger web site LIVIUS--Articles on Ancient History. Succinct descriptions of a dozen Greek philosophers with nice illustrations.

C.J. Cherryh, former Latin teacher and author, begins with an outline of the Latin sentence structure for the basis of study of the language. A novel and purportedly easy way to learn Latin the way Romans learned it-no grammar, no rules, no fear.

A transcription of the New Latin Grammar textbook of 1918 by Charles E. Bennett at Cornell University.

A transcription of Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar, digitized as the Libellus project by the University of Washington.

Provides texts and audio files of major Greek and Latin prose and poetry read by various scholars.

Provides links to Latin dictionaries, Latin language study aids, and Latin literature resources.

The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL) is a collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines with the main purpose of creating a digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.

Selected odes, epistles and satires of Augustan poet Horace in parallel columns of Latin and English. Hear the odes read in Latin as well. From the UCLA Horace's Villa Project. Scroll to the bottom of the page to choose other poems.

Devoted to the villa of Augustan Age poet Horace, located in Licenza, Italy (35 miles from Rome). Contains photographs and a model of the villa, a map with information on nearby places, 18th and 19th century artwork and testimonies, images of various objects found at the site, poems from Horace that mention the villa, and information on recent excavations. Searchable. Includes bibliography. From the University of California, Los Angeles.