Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

All CCNY Libraries are open as study space to fully vaccinated patrons with reservations. Make a reservation.

Most library resources and services will still be available online.

See updated information on remote and in-person services for Fall 2021 or find answers to frequently asked questions.

Need Help? Ask Us! ask us

Townsend Harris: Resources

This research guide is intended to help you locate print and electronic resources on Townsend Harris accessible in the CCNY Archives and libraries, as well as from off campus.

Resources

   The Japan Connection: The 150th Anniversary of Townsend Harris's Arrival in Japan

A digital exhibit on Townsend Harris curated by Prof. Sydney Van Nort in 2006. Includes images of photographs, letters, documents, and other archival materials in the Harris Collection housed in the CCNY Archives and Special Collection.
 
2006年に開催した展示会(シドニー・ヴァン・ノート教授監修)のデジタル版。シティ・カレッジ・アーカイブに所蔵されている、ハリス・コレクションの写真、書簡、書類、その他の古文書の閲覧ができます。
 

Adrift at Shimoda      Adrift at Shimoda
 
This website includes an annotated transcription of the letter of Townsend Harries addressed to the Hon. Lewiss Cass dated on September 11, 1858. The annotation and the website were created by the students of the Spring 2014 Honors World Civilizations class with Prof. Barbara Syrrakos at The City College of New York.
 
 
タウンゼンド・ハリスが下田にて、ルイス・キャス国務長官宛に書いた1858年11月11日付けの書簡の転写(英語)。2014年春学期に、バーバラ・シラコス教授の世界文明のクラスがクラス・プロジェクトとの一環として書簡の転写、ウェブサイトの立ち上げを行いました。

The City College Libraries: Archives and Special Collection

Our Townsend Harris collection includes Harris's letters and papers, as well as photographs, pamphlets, correspondence, copies of speeches, books and miscellaneous ephemera connected with Harris. Please contact us at 212.650.7609 or archives@ccny.cuny.edu for questions and appointment.

シティ・カレッジ大学図書館: アーカイブ & スペシャル・コレクション

タウンゼンド・ハリス・コレクションはハリスの書簡、古文書、写真、パンフレット、スピーチや公的書類、ハリスに関する書物等を所蔵しています。ハリス・コレクション所蔵品の一部は、夏季に期間限定で特別展示され、一般にも公開されています(アポイントメント要)。詳細、アポイントメントにつきましては212.650.7609 または archives@ccny.cuny.edu までご連絡下さい。

 

 

 

Librarian/Chief of Cataloging & MPC Division

Profile Photo
Sean O'Heir
Contact:
Cohen Library, Technical Services

Room 2/305 (NAC Building)

The City College of New York
160 Convent Avenue
New York, New York 10031
212-650-5073
Contact: Twitter Page

Chief of the Archives & Special Collection