LibGuides: Public Health: Databases and Journals

Databases

Below is a list of some of the most commonly used databases and tools for Public Health related research. Please see the A-Z Databases Page for a full list of databases you have access to via CCNY Libraries.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides indexing, back to 1937, for 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals. The U.S. government does not review or approve the safety and science of all studies listed on this website.

Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus; includes all MEDLINE titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc.
Libkey.io This link opens in a new window
A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (or PubMed IDentifier) search page for City College holdings at https://libkey.io/libraries/1271/
Libkey Nomad This link opens in a new window
Browser extension checks publisher sites for City College access. Combines information about CCNY e-journal holdings, authentication and article linking to deliver one-click access to PDF and HTML articles.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines, covering nearly 2000 journals. Includes everything found in the PsycARTICLES full-text database. Most of the publications covered are scholarly / peer-reviewed.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central , and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' Web sites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Today, PMC contains more than 6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).
For more information, please read MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? at https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/difference.html
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
The Sage Premiere package includes access to over 570 journals covering all disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.

Set up a username and password with your City College email. Click the "Find It at CUNY" button to link to the full text article if available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of scholarly articles from 22,000 peer-reviewed journals worldwide. The platform provides tools for advanced search, citation analysis and bibliometrics.

WHO: Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources.

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? OneSearch combines in one place three things: the CUNY library book catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content. Follow the link below to search OneSearch, but please note that your search might be better suited to subject-specific databases. There is no login required to use OneSearch.

CUNY OneSearch

How to find an article with a citation

These are steps you can take to find a specific article for which you have a citation.

Search for the article in OneSearch. If the article is accessible, it may come up in the results. However, OneSearch does not pull from 100% of the databases we offer, so there is a chance it may not. Please see above for details on OneSearch.
Search for the journal the article is published in. If we have access to the journal, the results will show the various databases through which you can search or browse that specific journal. Please see above for details on journal searching.
Use PubMed's Single Citation Matcher feature.

Below is where you would find the journal in a typical AMA style citation:

Crosby JC, Heimann MA, Burleson SL, et al. COVID-19: A review of therapeutics under investigation [published online ahead of print, 2020 Apr 19]. J Am Coll Emerg Physicians Open. 2020;10.1002/emp2.12081. doi:10.1002/emp2.12081

Journal names are abbreviated. This is the Journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians Open.

Don't forget that if the article is not available, you can request it via ILL.