Center for Worker Education Library

Spring 2024 

Library Room 7-28 | 212-925-6625 | Ext. 228
Library Open for Study/Research
Mon-Fri 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM
 Sat         9:00 AM to 4:30 PM
In Person Staffed Hours
Mon-Fri 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM
 Sat         9:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Online Staffed Hours
Mon-Fri 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM
Sat         9:00 AM to 4:30 PM
seamus@ccny.cuny.edu

LIBRARY RESOURCES - 1
(1) You have access to 20 Mac laptops for full-semester loans – email me seamus@ccny.cuny.edu
(2) You have access to 500,000 full text scholarly articles 
(3) You have access to 700,000 e-books
(4) You have 1000 pages of free printing in the library and computer lab
(5) You can access one-on-one research consultations with me in person or via Zoom
(6) You have free subscription to the digital version of the NYT 
https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass
(7) You have free subscription to the digital version of the Wall Street Journal
https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/wallstreetjournaldigitalsubscription
(8) You can access all the databases and articles from home
https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/researchtoolkit/offcampus

LIBRARY RESOURCES - 2
(1) Search our library catalog for books, e-books, videos and articles | start here https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/

(2) Research Toolkit  https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/researchtoolkit

(3) Access Articles via Databases https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/az.php

(4) Access E-book Collections https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/c.php?g=1036290&p=9269860

(5) Access the most popular database directly Academic Search Complete

IMPORTANT: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles versus Popular Articles

Teachers at CWE may require you to find and use articles for your papers that are deemed scholarly/authoritative. This means

• Articles are not from newspapers or magazines or random internet sources
• These articles are called scholarly articles or peer-reviewed articles
• They have an abstract, citations/references and written by experts
• The scholarly articles have been vetted by the peer-reviewed process
• When authors submit a papers to a journal it's sent out blindly to a team of reviewers who
  are experts in the same area of study (peers of the authors)
• The reviewers sent a report back to the journal to say accept, reject or suggest edits
• As outlined above we have access to these type of articles through the library catalog page https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/

LIBRARY RESOURCES - 3 | Finding Articles - Option 1

Use OneSearch to find books, e-books, journal articles - see below

For OneSearch you need your CUNY username and password (same as CUNYFirst)

Finding Articles - Option 2 Choose ‘Databases’.

For Databases you need your Citymail username and password

LIBRARY RESOURCES – 4 | Videos
Scholarly Versus Popular Articles
How to use OneSearch
How to use Academic Search Complete
All Library Tutorial Videos

LIBRARY RESOURCES – 5 | Some Specific Subject-Area Databases
Psychology
Sociology
Language & Literature
Education
Public Health
Medicine

OTHER RESOURCES
Email Password Reset
CWE Directory
CWE Awards & Scholarships (Usually Dec/Jan)
Women’s Forum ($10,000) (Usually Feb)
All Awards & Scholarship Opportunities

WORTH CONSIDERING ?
Life Experience Program BA (Up to 12 credits free)
Autobiography Program BA (Up to 8 credits free)
BA/MA Program (Up to 12 credits from your BA counted towards MA)
MA Program

Séamus Scanlon
Librarian, Center for Worker Education (CWE)
City College Downtown, Cunard Building
25 Broadway, 7-28, New York, NY 10004
e: seamus@ccny.cuny.edu | p: (212) 925-6625 | Ext. 228
w: https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/
w: https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/cwelibrary/about
W: This page https://library.ccny.cuny.edu/c.php?g=940349&p=10154802