Earth and Atmospheric Sciences: Databases

A data repository for records concerning the concentrations of carbon dioxide and other radiatively active gases and their impact on global climate; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and oceans on the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of CO2 to the atmosphere; long-term climate changes; the effects of elevated CO2 on plants, and effects of rising sea levels on coastal areas.

A searchable repository of environmental and climate data.

NASA's Earth Science Data Systems program oversees the life cycle of NASA’s Earth science data. The primary goal is to maximize the scientific return from NASA's missions and experiments for research and applied scientists, decision makers, and society at large.

A bibliographic database of more than 40,000 publications from the Geological Survey of Canada dating back to 1986. Search results come complete with ordering information for the full-text document.

This collection contains a variety of free resources that provide a balanced view on environmental issues and their potential consequences. The current focus of these documents from governmental agencies and international organizations is climate change.

The authoritative source for data sets used by the United Nations Environment Programme and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.

This database is a comprehensive collection of published analyses of volcanic rocks and mantle xenoliths. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. It has more than 535,000 analyses of more than 305,000 samples, published in more than 10,000 papers,.

More than 30,000 datasets in all areas of earth and atmospheric sciences.

Offers over 5,000 pages of mineral data with information on all known mineral species. Users can browse the database of 4,442 individual mineral species data description by crystallography, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, strunz classification, and alphabetical listings.

Provides worldwide oceanographic data that describe the ocean water column from seafloor to surface. The site offers online data on ocean currents, waves, salinity, temperature, oxygen, nutrients, chlorophyll, plankton, and biota. The World Ocean Atlas, Atlas of Surface Marine Data, History of the Arctic Exploration, Time Series Data for the White Sea, Hydrochemical Atlas of the Sea of Okhotsk, the Biological Atlas of the Arctic Seas 2000, Zooplankton of the Arctic Seas 2002, and Russian Marine Expeditionary Investigations of the World Ocean, and links to other ocean data resources on the web.

Provides a subject-indexed and searchable list of 6165 images, visualizations, and animations of the Earth based on satellite data. Images relating to the following subjects are available: agriculture, atmosphere, biosphere, cryosphere, human environmental impacts, hydrosphere, infrared imaging, land surface, oceans, remote sensing, geology, and area studies.

An electronic library that includes citations to more than 75,000 USGS publications, of which more than 40,000 are available electronically.

A connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy, including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information.

Digitized U.S. government technical reports.

TThis provides indexing and citation linking for over 6,650 journals in 150 scientific disciplines, including earth and atmospheric sciences from 1899 through the present and includes cited reference searching capability.

Over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations from the Department of Energy research report literature. Included are physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to Department of Energy's mission.

A searchable database of the tables of contents of many of the leading scholarly journals in all subject areas.

SpringerLink is a database providing indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scholarly journals and magazines . Full text articles are available for nearly 300 of these titles. In addition we have full text access to 15,000+ ebooks. Almost all of the publications are scholarly and are oriented toward seniors or higher level students and researchers. The database covers all areas of study, but is slightly weighted toward the sciences. Materials available in full text are identified by the present. Restricted to City College students, faculty and staff.