It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables CCNY students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the CCNY Library. Please check CUNY+ before requesting an ILL.
Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) is a database consisting of over 2,000,000 doctoral dissertations and masters theses written at academic institutions in the US, Canada, UK, and many other countries. All disciplines are covered. This database is appropriate for senior or higher level students and researchers. Several pages are displayed as a preview.
Doctoral dissertations from United States academic institutions from 1861 - present.
Primary Article Databases
The best article databases in which to find Mathematics journal literature:
The MathSciNet database indexes all fields of pure and applied mathematics, covering over 400 current journals. Organization of the database is highly technical and is based on the logical structure of mathematics. All entries include either authors' abstracts or reviews written by an independent reviewer. Many of the reviews include references to other papers.
The American Mathematical Society (AMS) database consists of thirteen journals published or distributed by AMS. Six of these journals are available in full text. Subjects covered are mostly pure mathematics. This database is appropriate for upper-level undergraduates or higher level students and researchers.
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Physics papers comprise the majority in this archive. The papers listed have been reviewed but not necessarily published. The arXiv site was originally established to enable physicists to view papers prior to publication. Currently maintain by Cornell University, the site contains nearly 450,000 documents.
Full-text monographs, multivolume works, and journal backfiles in ten subject areas, including 475 mathematics monographs and multivolume works, and over forty mathematics journals. GDZ is an open access database - you do not have to be a member of the City College or CUNY community to use it.
NUMDAM is a full text historical database of ten French mathematics journals. While almost all of the older articles are in French, most of the more recent papers (from about 1980 on) are in English. All entries include links to MathSciNet (available to members of the CCNY community), Zentralblat MATH (not available to members of the CCNY community), or for older articles, Jahrbuch für Mathematik (open access). All of the titles are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
En ligne sur CEDRAM : 4 Revues - 1 Actes et séminaires
Annales de la faculté des sciences de Toulouse
Annales de l’institut Fourier
Annales mathématiques Blaise Pascal
Journal de théorie des nombres de Bordeaux
Actes et séminaires
Journées Equations aux dérivées partielles
These are more article databases in which to find Mathematics literature:
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Among the more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966 are many article on mathematics education.
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Most searches return an assortment of citations, abstracts, and links to full text. To link Google Scholar to the City College Library's full text offerings, click 'Scholar Preferences,' type 'City College,' and click 'Find Library.' Then check the box next to 'City College - Find fulltext at CCNY.'
Among the over 22,000 journals, 23 million patents, 12,000 conference proceedings, 5,000 books, and scholarly Web content covered by the Web of Knowledge databases are thousands of mathematics books and journals. The searchable databases include: Web of Science (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index) and Medline.
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.