LibGuides: Mathematics: History of Math

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables members of the CCNY community to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the CCNY Library. ILL cannot be used to obtain textbooks.

ILL policies
ILL login page

Historia Mathematica* (Journal)

When you go to the ScienceDirect website (linked below), enter into the search boxes as...

All Fields: Your Topic

Journal/Book title: Historia Mathematica

No need to put "history" or "mathematics" as search topics since this is a historical mathematics journal.

History of Mathematics Websites

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
Collection of information on mathematics history.

These are websites that relate specifically to the historical development of mathematics. Some may not look so pretty but they are populated with important and relevant information.

Mathematics History Topics Index
Not sure which topic to choose? This is a great website to explore the various possibilities.
Chronological List of Mathematicians
List of mathematicians, organized by date.
History of Mathematics - Atlas
Very comprehensive look at the history of mathematics. In the Subfield section, copy the MSC subject term (i.e. 01A27 for Japan history) to use in MathSciNet.
Websites Relevant to the History of Mathematics
Extensive listings of various mathematics and history websites.
Mathematics Geneology Project
Hierarchy connecting and listing all individuals who have received a doctorate in mathematics.
Women in Mathematics
An extensive collection of resources about women in mathematics.
Mathematical Words: Origins and Sources
History of mathematical words and symbols.
Celebratio Mathematica
An open-access web publication that celebrates the people of mathematics and serves the public interest of the mathematical community. CM is structured as a series of collected-works volumes or, rather, enhanced guides to the collected works of selected scientists, with the added advantages of electronic media.

Primary Scholarly Databases

The best article databases to find Mathematics & History journal literature:

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
The MathSciNet database indexes all fields of pure and applied mathematics, covering over 400 current journals. Organization of the database is highly technical and is based on the logical structure of mathematics. All entries include either authors' abstracts or reviews written by an independent reviewer. Many of the reviews include references to other papers.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on mathematics education are available through ERIC.

arXiv articles for Mathematics History
A little tricky to use. Because it is already set as mathematics history, just enter your mathematical area of interest (i.e. knot theory or Japan) into the Abstract+ field.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary journal database that contains many historical articles.
SpringerLink Math BOOKS & ARTICLES
Articles and Books published by Springer. Narrowed to "History of Mathematics" topics.

Subject Guide

Loren Mendelsohn

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Mathematics, Physics

CCNY Libraries are open regular hours. Access is limited to CCNY ID holders only.

Mathematics: History of Math

Interlibrary Loan

Historia Mathematica* (Journal)

History of Mathematics Websites

Primary Scholarly Databases

Subject Guide