|
|
| • |
MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews,
1940- ; Full Reviews 1940- ) 
Comprehensive database covering the worlds
mathematical literature since 1940 MathSciNet provides Web access to the
bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in
the Mathematical Reviews Database |
| • |
Zentralblatt MATH (1931-present)
Provides a comprehensive coverage of the international
mathematical research published in the years 1931 through present It contains
articles from about 3 000 journals monographs proceedings volumes and
collections of articles |
| • |
Jahrbuch Database
(Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics) (1868-1942)
The Electronic
Research Archive results from a project supported by the Deutsche
Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). It consists of two parts:
* A literature
database based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik"
(1868-1942)
* An archive of digitised mathematical publications at the
Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen |
| • |
Web of Science (1900-present)
Includes Science Citation Index. |
| • |
Combined Membership List (AMS, MAA,
SIAM, AMATYC, AWM, CMS, and SMC) |
| • |
MathCRCNet
Mathematics texts from CRC Press avaialble for full
text online searching. |
| • |
CRCNetBase
CRC NetBase ful-text serach across sci-tech-engin
databases. |
| • |
ITKnowledgeBase
Information Technology publiscations from CRC
Press. |
| • |
InfoSecurityNetBase
Search across Information security publications from
CRC Press. |
| • |
Mathworld
A free resource
from Wolfram Research based on Eric Weissteinn CRC Concise Encyclopedia of
Mathematics. |
| • |
Math Forum@Drexel
An open website of
problems and puzzles, online mentoring, research, team problem solving,
collaborations, and professional development. |
| • |
MathDL: The MAA Mathematical Sciences Digital
Library
MathDL is an online resource published by the Mathematical
Association of America. The site provides online resources for both teachers and
students of mathematics. |
| • |
PAM: Resources
in Mathematics
Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics of SLA (Special
Libraries Association) |
|
Top of Page 
|
|
In-depth
guides & instructional materials |
| • |
View
tutorial on how to find books in ANTPAC |
| • |
View
tutiorial on how to find articles on your topic |
| • |
A
Bibliography of Collected Works and Correspondence of Mathematicians
Cornell University
Steve Rockey, Mathematics Library, Malott Hall, Cornell
University, Ithaca, NY 14853 |
| • |
About
the Bibliography |
| • |
Mathematics Subject Classification
Scheme 2000
The current classification system, 2000 Mathematics
Subject Classification (MSC2000), is a revision of the 1991 Mathematics Subject
Classification, which is the classification that has been used by Mathematical
reviews (MR) and Zentralblatt Math (Zbl) since the beginning of 1991. MSC2000 is
the result of a collaborative effort by the editors of MR and Zbl to update the
classification. |
| • |
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back of the book indexes to
subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject
areas Search the contents of more than 4,500 reference titles
Subject:
Encyclopedias and dictionaries -- Indexes; Electronic reference sources --
Indexes; Reference sources -- Indexes |
|
Top of Page
|
|
ANTPAC, Melvyl, WorldCat, online books, journals, dissertations,
preprints, and more |
|
|
| • |
Catalogs |
| • |
ANTPAC
UC Irvine’s online
catalog. Find print and electronic books, journal titles (not articles), videos,
and more available in any of the UC Irvine Libraries. |
| • |
Melvyl
Online catalog of the
entire University of California System. Find print and electronic books,
journals, videos, and more at all University of California libraries. |
|
|
| • |
WorldCat
Find books, journal titles, and more available in
libraries worldwide. |
| • |
Google Scholar
Search across
many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and
articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint
repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. |
| • |
Windows Live Academic
Search for
scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and academic
books. |
| • |
Scirius
A science-specific search
engine on the Internet that searches over 450 million science-specific Web
pages. |
| • |
Online Books |
| • |
AMS Books Online
Full-text
monographs in PDF format published by the American Mathematical
Society. |
| • |
The Electronic Library of
Mathematics
The Electronic Library of Mathematics is offered by the
European Mathematical Society (EMS) in cooperation with FIZ Karlsruhe /
Zentralblatt MATH |
| • |
Online
Mathematics Textbooks
George Cain, School of Mathematics, Georgia
Institute of Technology |
| • |
Distributed
Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs Collection
Comprised of
full-text monograph collections at three institutions: Cornell University
Library, The University of Michigan Library, and the State and University
Library Gottingen.
The Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics
Monographs is a collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen
from the mathematics field. These were monographs that were brittle and decaying
and in need of rescue. These monographs were digitally scanned and facsimile
editions on acid free paper were created. |
| • |
Lecture Notes in Mathematics
Full-text available starting with volume 1 (1964) to
the present. |
| • |
Online Journals.
(to
find articles, see How to find mathematics articles, below) |
| • |
E-Resources
Locator (enter title keywords and select category "online
journals") |
| • |
Links to mathematics
publishers and aggregator sites: |
| • |
American Mathematical Society
(AMS) |
| • |
JSTOR |
| • |
SpringerLink |
| • |
Marcel Dekker |
| • |
Project Euclid |
| • |
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) |
| • |
SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied
Mathematics |
| • |
Wiley Interscience |
| • |
More publisher,
aggregator sites.... |
| • |
Proceedings |
| • |
Proceedings First
Find citations to worldwide conferences, symposia,
meetings, expositions, and congresses. Each record contains a list of the papers
presented at each conference. Coverage: 1993-present. |
| • |
Dissertations |
| • |
Digital Dissertations (Proquest
Digital Dissertations)
Digital Dissertations provides bibliographic information on
over 1.5 million doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. The full-text of
over 100,000 dissertations is available for downloading. The database is
searchable by author, subject, and school. Full-text downloads of dissertations
since 1997 from most U.S. Ph.D. programs. |
| • |
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences 2nd
ed.
Online edition that corresponds to 16 volumes of the print reference.
Valuable tool for research and work in areas of probability theory,
biostatistics, quality control, and economics. Emphasis on applications of
statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine,
psychology and survey methodology. |
| • |
Le Conservatoire numérique des Arts & Métiers
(CNUM)
Le Conservatoire Numérique des Arts et Métiers (CNUM), a
digital library dedicated to the history of science and technology. |
| • |
La Nature
(1873-1905)
Included on the site is a long run (1873-1905) of La Nature,
French journal roughly equivalent to Scientific American for the same
period. |
| • |
Le Conservatoire numérique des Arts
& Métiers (author index)
A list of monographs, by
author. |
|
Top of Page
|
|
The best
article databases to find Mathematics journal literature |
| • |
MathSciNet (Mathematical
Reviews, 1940- ; Full Reviews 1940- )
Produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS),
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world’s mathematical
literature since 1940. It provides citations, abstracts, and (in many cases)
links to full-text journal articles and research papers in mathematics.
Coverage: 1940-present. |
| • |
Zentralblatt MATH (1930-present)
Maintained and edited by the European Mathematical
Society (EMS), Fachinformationszentrum (FIZ) Karlsruhe, and the Heidelberger
Akademie der Wissenschaften, Zentralblatt MATH is a major mathematics
abstracting and reviewing database containing over 2 million citations to
international journals, serials, conference proceedings, collections of papers
and books. Zentralblatt MATH covers the entire spectrum of mathematics including
applications in computer science, mechanics, physics, and more.
Coverage:
1931-present. |
| • |
Web of Science (1900-present)
Web of Science (WOS) is the online version of the
Science, Social Science, and Arts and Humanities Citation Indices. WOS provides
citations to journal articles in all disciplines and is very useful for finding
interdisciplinary research. Search for journal articles by subject, author,
journal, or author address, or use the unique "cited reference search" feature
to find articles that have cited the works of previous authors. Includes
abstracts and many links to full-text articles.
Coverage:
1900-present. |
| • |
AMS Directory of Mathematics
Preprint and E-Print Servers
E-print servers provide abstracts and
full-text of research papers submitted directly by authors. They provide access
to the newest research findings prior to publication in print or electronic
journals. |
| • |
EULER: Portal to Mathematics
Publications
"The objective is to make the EULER service a world
reference and delivery service, offering full coverage of the mathematics
literature worldwide, including bibliographic data, peer reviews and/or
abstracts, indexing, classification and search, transparent access to library
services, cooperation with commercial information providers (publishers,
bookstores) with a European basis." Currently, the database consists of test
sets of varying size. |
| • |
The Jahrbuch Project: Electronic
Research Project for Mathematics (ERAM)
"The project provides a
digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period
1868-1942 and a database based on the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der
Mathematik." Searchable in same interface with Zentralblatt MATH. |
| • |
arXiv.org e-Print archive -
Mathematics (since 2/92)
Open e-print archive with over 100000 articles in
physics, 10000 in mathematics, and 1000 in computer science. (Formerly called
xxx.) |
| • |
Mathematics and
Physics Preprint Literature (Princeton University)
Mathematics
preprint servers by topic. |
| • |
Centre de diffusion de revues académiques
mathématiques cedram.org
En ligne sur CEDRAM : 4 Revues - 1 Actes et
séminaires
Revues
Annales de la faculté des sciences de Toulouse
Annales de l’institut Fourier
Annales mathématiques Blaise Pascal
Journal de théorie des nombres de Bordeaux
Actes et séminaires
Journées Equations aux dérivées partielles |
| • |
Livres Numérisés de Mathématiques at
Bibliothéque Nationale de France (NUMDAM)
NUMDAM (Digitalization of
mathematical old documents) proposes a free access to the metadata and the
articles of reviews of mathematics. For each review concerned, the totality of
the volumes published until the year 2000 (see beyond) was converted with the
numerical format, which represents currently more than 430,000 digitized pages
and 20,000 articles online. During a five year embargo window the articles are
reserved to the only subscribers. |
| • |
Google Scholar
Search across
many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and
articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint
repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. |
| • |
Windows Live Academic
Search for
scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and academic
books. |
| • |
Scirius
A science-specific search
engine on the Internet that searches over 450 million science-specific Web
pages. |
|
Top of Page
|
|
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and
other reference works in Mathematics |
| • |
Ask Dr. Math
A question and
answer service for math students and their teachers. A searchable archive is
available by level and topic, as well as summaries of Frequently Asked
Questions. |
| • |
Calculus on the Web
(COW)
An internet utility for learning and practicing
calculus. |
| • |
Combined Membership
List
Directory of members of the American Mathematical Society (AMS),
Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied
Mathematics (SIAM), American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges
(AMATYC), and the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM). |
| • |
Encyclopedia
of Mathematical Physics
A thorough overview of key topics in mathematical
physics providing "focused high-quality background information." |
| • |
Famous Problems in the
History of Mathematics
Investigation of famous problems, links to
mathematicians’ biographies and other math history sites. |
| • |
Fields Medals and Rolf Nevanlinna
Prize
Awards to recognize outstanding mathematical achievement since
1936. |
| • |
Internet Mathematics Library (Math
Forum)
In-depth coverage of math and math education web
sites. |
| • |
InfoSECURITYnetBASE |
| • |
ITKnowledgeBASE |
| • |
Mathematical Atlas
"The
Mathematical Atlas is a collection of articles about aspects of mathematics at
and above the university level, but (usually) not at the level of current
research. The goal of this collection is to introduce the subject areas of
modern mathematics, to describe a few of the milestone results and topics, and
to give pointers to some of the key resources where further information is to be
found." |
| • |
Mathematical
Quotation Server
Database of quotes having to do with mathematics.
Searchable by name or keyword. |
| • |
MATHnetBASE |
| • |
Mathworld
"MathWorld is a
comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students,
educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers. Like the vibrant and constantly
evolving discipline of mathematics, this site is continuously updated to include
new material and incorporate new discoveries." Developed by Eric W.
Weisstein. |
| • |
PRIME Mathematics
Encyclopedia
Comprehensive mathematics encyclopedia including
information on a wide range of topics approachable from pre-collegiate to
advanced graduate and research levels. |
| • |
Problems Library (Math
Forum)
The Problems Library is an archive of Math Forum’s "Problem of
the Week" organized by topic and rated for difficulty level. |
| • |
Scientific Graphics
Project
The Scientific Graphics Project is concerned primarily with
surfaces in R3 (three dimensional euclidean space). The surfaces are organized
into three major categories: Minimal Surfaces, CMC (Constant Mean Curvature)
Surfaces, and Level Surfaces. |
| • |
SCI-TECHnetBASE
|
| • |
STATSnetBASE
Covers statistical methods in all areas, including
Bayes, environmental and medical statistics. |
|
Top of Page
|
|
Finding in-depth &
specialized Mathematics information |
| • |
Math Forum@Drexel
Sponsored by Drexel
University, the Math Forum provides "resources, materials, activities,
person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich
and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological
world." |
| • |
Mathematics WWW Virtual
Library
A collection of mathematics-related resources maintained by
the Florida State University Department of Mathematics. |
| • |
PAM: Resources
in Mathematics
Extensive guide to mathematics resources compiled by
the Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division of SLA (Special Libraries
Association). |
| • |
Math DL: Mathematical Sciences Digital
Library
"MathDL is an online resource published by the Mathematical
Association of America. The site provides online resources for both teachers and
students of mathematics." |
|
Top of Page
|
|
Finding
faculty & campus resources in Mathematics |
| • |
School of Physical
Sciences |
| • |
Department of Mathematics |
|
Top of Page
|
|
Key organizations,
associations & career information for Mathematics |
| • |
American Mathematical Society
(AMS) |
| • |
American Statistical Association
(ASA) |
| • |
Canadian Mathematical Society
(CMS) |
| • |
European Mathematical Society
(EMS) |
| • |
EWM: European Women in Mathematics
(EWM) |
| • |
International Mathematical Union
(IMU) |
| • |
London Mathematical Society
(LMS) |
| • |
Mathematical Association of America
(MAA) |
| • |
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
(NCTM) |
| • |
National Science Foundation,
Division of Mathematical Sciences
MPS is comprised of the Divisions
of Astronomical Sciences, Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences,
Physics, and the Office of Multidisciplinary Activities. These organizations
provide the basic structure for MPS support of research and education. They
support both disciplinary and interdisciplinary activities and partner
effectively with each other and with other parts of NSF. |
| • |
Pi Mu Epsilon, Mathematics Honor
Society
Pi Mu Epsilon, Inc (PME), is the Honorary National
Mathematics Society. It was founded on May 25, 1914 at Syracuse University and
currently has over 300 chapters at colleges and universities throughout the
United States. |
| • |
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied
Mathematics)
"SIAM exists to ensure the strongest interactions
between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through
membership activities, publication of journals and books, and
conferences." |
|
Top of Page
|
: UC Irvine Access only | How to connect from
off-campus