Biomedical Research Resources: HEALTH STATISTICS

Produces and disseminates information about the cost, quality, access, and medical effectiveness of health care. Produces guidelines for treating priority populations.

Published since 2003, these reports measure trends in effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness, and efficiency of care. The reports present, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to health care.

Statistical activities include measuring the impact of immunizations, HIV/AIDS, and other infectious diseases, and studying methodological approaches to collecting the core data needed for program planning, monitoring, surveillance, and evaluation.

Conducts public health assessments, health studies, and health surveillance for those exposed to hazardous materials, and maintains exposure and disease registries for long- term follow-up or specific scientific studies. ATSDR analyzes the statistical significance of human disease, biomarkers, and other health outcomes in the presence of environmental contamination to establish possible relationships between exposure and health.

Provides annual information on the rate and number of work related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.

Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality. IMPORTANT COLLECTIONS: Vital and Health Statistics Series, FastStats, NCHS Fact Sheets, NCHS Health E-Stats, Health, United States, 2013, and many more.

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

THE BEST SOURCE FOR HEALTH STATISTICS
Provides an A to Z index to the statistics, an also arranges the statistics by topic. Tools and Resources are also provided.

CBHSQ provides the latest national data on: alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and other drug abuse; drug related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases; and the nation's substance abuse treatment system

Collects administrative data associated with oversight of the Medicare and Medicaid programs; studies the quality of care delivered by those programs; and sponsors a survey of current Medicare beneficiaries to obtain data on health care utilization and expenditures, including expenditures not covered by Medicare, the sources of health care coverage and payment, and the assets, income, health, functional status, work history, and family support systems of the Medicare population.

Features statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

Health, United States, an annual publication, presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory care and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics.

The National Center for Health Statistics' website is a rich source of information about America's health

Atlas provides interactive maps, graphs, tables, and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of HIV, AIDS, chlamydia, gonorrhea, and primary and secondary syphilis surveillance data. TB and viral hepatitis are slated to be included in 2012.

Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). You can browse or search by keywords and topics to retrieve interactive data tables and graphs which allow users to select, view, compare, and download survey data results for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and the 10 HRSA regions.

The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest including general health, mental health, and attitudes and opinions about health and healthcare. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.

On-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

A 20-year nationwide survey of the health, economic and social status of older Americans, has added genetic information from consenting participants to its massive database. Supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA), part of the National Institutes of Health, and conducted by scientists at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, the HRS is the premier database for studying retirement and the baby boom generation.

A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

OMH operates the Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) the nation's largest repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians/Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanics, Native Hawaiians, and other Pacific Islands

Resource for community health planners, practitioners, and policy developers..

Access 2020 Census data, which includes basic demographic and housing characteristics for various types of New York City geographies, and a view of change over time from 2010.

The course is divided into 2 main parts
About Health Statistics - which describes these sources and explores how they are created and
Finding Health Statistics - which presents strategies you can use to successfully search for the material

A Free Tool for Instant Random Sampling and Assignment.