LibGuides: African American Studies: Resources

Books and E-Books

CUNY+ Library Catalog
more...less...
CUNY + is the online catalog for the holdings of all CUNY libraries. Search an individual library catalog or search the holdings of all CUNY libraries.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides complete bibliographic information on nearly all materials published in all subject areas in all languages. It draws its information from the library holdings of thousands of libraries around the world. Included in the database are books, periodicals (but not individual articles), sound and video recordings, electronic resources, dissertations and theses.

Google Books
more...less...
Searches the full text of the vast collections of books that Google has scanned.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of more than 200,000 titles from leading academic, scientific, technical, medical, and professional publishers.
To learn more about reading and borrowing on the EBook Central platform, go to https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 ebooks in a broad variety of academic disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
more...less...
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Google Scholar
more...less...
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Most searches return an assortment of citations, abstracts, and links to full text. To link Google Scholar to the City College Library's full text offerings, click 'Scholar Preferences,' type 'City College,' and click 'Find Library.' Then check the box next to 'City College - Find fulltext at CCNY.'

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database providing indexing and full text access for about 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals in 42 disciplines. Coverage is heavily weighted toward social sciences and humanities. The titles covered are almost exclusively oriented toward the scholar (senior or higher academic level), but some articles may be appropriate for use by lower level undergraduates.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published in the US, including magazines on business, child rearing, and ethnic history. Currently over 270 publications are included. The focus of the database is news, social issues, culture, and related issues. It is appropriate for persons at all academic levels.

This resource is limited to 95 simultaneous CUNY users.

Humanities Full Text
more...less...
Humanities Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Full-text coverage begins in January 1995.

Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis® Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; patents, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789

New York Times - Historical Edition
more...less...
The New York Times (1851 - 2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Project MUSE
more...less...
Project MUSE is a database consisting of over 300 peer-reviewed scholarly journals, mostly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, published primarily by small scholarly or university presses. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.

To Request Articles

From any database use to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title List or the Catalog for print access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
If a journal is available at City College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
If a journal is unavailable at City College, request article via Interlibrary loan
If a City College paper journal issue or volume is missing, request it via ILL with note.
Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.

E-Z Proxy Access
For all resources from off-campus click database name and follow instructions. See instructions