LibGuides: African American Studies: Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

More Internet

H-Caribbean
Sponsored by the Association of Caribbean Historians H-Caribbean provides access to debates and discussions on Caribbean studies; act as a resource to academics teaching and researching in associated fields; and reinforce the growing awareness of the region as an important and rich area for further research and study.

Online Newspapers

Collections

Country Specific

Castro Speech Database
This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.

Visual, Audio and Artifact Sources

NYPL Digital Collections
Contains almost 800,000 images from the New York Public Library's Collections, many on Caribbean topics.
UK National Archives: Caribbean Through a Lens

Contains around 2,500 images from the UK National Archives’ collection of Caribbean images drawn from the Ministry of Information (INF 10) and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (CO 1069) and span over 100 years of history.
Colonial Film Database
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by our academic research team.

Caribbean Journals Online

Anthurium: A Caribbean Studies Journal

A journal which covers topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Caribbean Journal of Criminology and Public Safety

Available on the website are back issues of the journal from 1996

Caribbean Review of Gender Studies

Maximizing the use of the internet platform, the journal incorporates differnet media in the presentations

Caribbean Writer

This journal publishes anthologies of renowned and new Caribbean writers.

History in Action

The journal is maintained by the History Department of the University of the West Indies.

Small Axe

Seminal journal in Caribbean studies. Available in print and digital format through the Yale University Library.

Slavery & the Slave Trade

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
Approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.