Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Hours

African American Studies: Microform Collection

Microform Collection

The Black Culture Collection.

Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

The Black Culture Collection at the Cohen Library consists of 599 reels of microfilm that contain books, pamphlets, periodicals, and thesis related to Black history in the U.S. and abroad and dating back to the 17th century. This material is a reproduction of material in the Trevor-Arnett Library at Atlanta University, which includes the personal library of bibliophile Henry P. Slaughter and is now housed at Clark Atlanta University's Woodruff Library Archives and Special Collections. To find material in this collection, use the following print indices. When you are ready to request the microfilm, please see Circulation Desk staff.

Index:

  • 2 volumes. 1972. Cohen Library Reference Z 3509.B4 v.1-2Black Culture Collection Catalog: Africa.
  • Black Culture Collection Catalog: United States Section ... the Black Experience in America Since the 17th Century. 4 volumes. 1974. Cohen Library Reference Z 1361.N39 B47 v.1-4

Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Part 1, 1909-1950: Meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches and special reports. Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. 28 reels

Microfilm (see Circulation Desk staff)

This collection includes the core materials of the papers of the NAACP from 1909 through 1950, which detail the Association’s structure, activities and development at the highest organizational level.