Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Hours

History and Philosophy of Science: e-Resources

E-Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference works. You can search across the entire collection or access the titles individually in the Online Catalog. It includes the Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
Access is limited to current CCNY students, faculty, and staff.

Oxford Reference Library
Oxford Reference is a database consisting of over 180 reference books published by Oxford University Press covering all areas of knowledge. Oxford Quick Reference contains 125 core subject and language dictionaries, and over 16,000 illustrations, including colour photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables. The database contains entries that are appropriate for students and researchers at all levels.
Access is limited to current CCNY students, faculty, and staff.

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The encyclopedia is run by two editors from the Universities of Tennessee and Sacramento. Articles are either original contributions by specialized scholars, adaptations of material written by the editors for classroom purposes, or adaptations from public domain sources. A bibliography of sources is included for each article.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Presented by Stanford University, the encyclopedia contains scholarly articles that include bibliographies.