It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology: Biology Names
This guide provides a set of resources, available through the CCNY's Library for beginning research in biology. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.
Curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases; currently represents about 10% of described species; the database can be searched by common or scientific names, or browsed by broad (phylogenetic) categories of organisms.
Species 2000 is a ‘federation’ of database organizations working closely with users, taxonomists and sponsoring agencies. Each database covers all known species in the group, using a consistent taxonomic system. The participating databases are widely distributed throughout the world and currently number 52. The program in partnership with the Integrated Taxonomic Information system (ITIS) of North America currently produces the Catalogue of Life. This is used by the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF, http://www.gbif.org/) and Encyclopedia of Life (EoL) as the taxonomic backbone to their web portals. Species 2000 receives funding from GBIF.
Scientific names of plants and animals are not known for their entertainment value. Here is a collection of scientific names worthy a second look.
SEE the alphabetical listing of curious (and weird) names
Whether it's a shrewdness of apes, a pandemonium of parrots or a zeal of zebras, lots of animals have bizarre, little-known names when they cluster into crowds. (Gropus of animals, such as a herd of cattle, a school of fish (in the water) or a brace of fish (in a creel) are known as collective nouns or collectives (aka "terms of venery").
The ICZN is responsible for producing the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature - a set of rules for the naming of animals and the resolution of nomenclatural problems. Be sure to scan and use its special features, database sites, and publications