It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology: FIND ARTICLES
This guide provides a set of resources, available through the CCNY's Library for beginning research in biology. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.
City College OneSearch combines in one searchable place three things: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library. The purpose of a discovery service is to allow patrons to search quickly and seamlessly across a vast range of local and remote content while providing relevancy-ranked results in the type of intuitive interface that information seekers have come to expect.
To request an item, sign in using your CUNY single login credentials: (Firstname.LastnameXX@login.cuny.edu, where “XX” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID)
Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that covers from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.
Embase is the largest biomedical database with over 30 million records from 1947 to present. Embase covers over 8,500 journals including all Medline titles, and additional 2,900+ journals that are not covered by Medline. It also includes conference abstracts from important biomedical, drug and medical device conferences dating back to 2009. It has 64 drug subheadings, including 47 routes of administration, 4 medical device subheadings, 14 disease subheadings, several thousand terms for related medical procedures, over 3,000 specific terms for general and medical devices, etc. All articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science Emtree thesaurus, and those corresponding to the Medline titles have also Mesh headings.
PsychINFO is the world's premier database covering psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines, covering nearly 2000 journals. Hundreds of these journals are available in full text through the PsychARTICLES collection
Science Citation Index Expanded. It covers information in areas such as agricultural, biological, and environmental sciences, engineering, technology, applied science, medical and life sciences, and physical and chemical sciences.
SciFinder is a comprehensive database indexing the literature of chemistry & related sciences. SciFinder is useful for locating articles concerned with specific chemical substances and reactions. You must be a CCNY patron to register to use this database. To self-register visit the following URL: http://http://tinyurl.com/nplld7a
he American Society for Microbiology (ASM) publishes 11 scholarly journals covering all areas of microbiology and immunology. Full text is available for all 11 titles. ASM journals are oriented toward the senior or higher level researcher.
The Annual Reviews database consists of 32 subject-specific collections of scholarly review articles. Twenty five titles pertain to biomedical sciences. These review articles are provide in depth overviews of different current research topics.
BMC is an open access publisher of about 170 biology and medical journals. Most of the content is scholarly, peer-reviewed papers; however, many of the journals contain news and review articles of more general interest.
BioOne provides full text access to over 90 biology journals, published by or for small, regional, or specialized scholarly organizations. Nearly all of the content is scholarly, peer-reviewed papers; however, many of the journals contain news and review articles of more general interest. Education students and researchers should that BioOne includes some content on biology education.
Nature Journals is a database providing access to the full content of the premier science journal Nature, as well as the following 13 additional journals published by Nature: Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Genetics, Nature Immunology, Nature Medicine, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Immunology, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, Nature Structural and Molecular Biology, and Oncogene.
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a database of open access peer-reviewed science journals. Currently PLoS has seven journals covering the biomedical sciences, but very likely more titles will be added over the next several years. The database is primarily oriented toward research scientists or advanced student researchers.
ScienceDirect is a database of all the materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. Over 1000 journals of the 1800 searchable titles are available as full text, usually from 1997 to present. All subject areas are covered, but more science and engineering titles are available because of Elsevier's publishing focus. Almost all of the journals are scholarly, peer-reviewed titles.
ILL is used to obtain articles from journals not available at CCNY for purpose of research and education. Register your ILLIAD domain by filling in this form: enter EMPLID, type in your CITYMAIL/CCNY email address, and choose any username and password not used before, finally click on "Submit Information" button to continue.