Chemistry: DATABASES

Videos recorded at these meetings.

From the publisher Elsevier. Researchers can post preprints and working papers.

This preprint server, serving the global chemistry community, is co-owned, and managed by world’s leading chemical societies; American Chemical Society, German Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, Chemical Society of Japan, and Chinese Chemical Society. Here is an opportunity to get your work rapidly publicized and seen. Also, unlike most scholarly journals, you can contribute negative or failed results to save valuable time for other researchers. Nearly all scholarly chemistry journals will accept for publication preprints posted here. But authors should always check the instructions for authors for the specific journal they are considering. Here is a list of other preprint servers: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_preprint_repositories/

A preprint server operated by the Electrochemical Society.

Unlike chemrxiv.org, this server contains contributions from all scholarly disciplines.

A free preprint server currently limited to publishing unpublished research results intended for publication in the two Beilstein Institute journals; Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, and Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology.

This database from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) a division of the American Chemical Society, contains the CAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for nearly 500,000 chemicals of widespread general public interest, and all 118 elements of the Periodic Table. It also provides links to relevant Wikipedia articles.

A freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on small’ chemical compounds. Contains basic information including Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers, InChI, and SMILE notations.

Allows look up of compounds in over 100 databases with more than 74 million entries (46 million unique structures). The compound can be searched by formula, InChI, SMILES, and other identifiers.

Allows you to search the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database of over 400,000 chemicals, and locate information about these substances in the NLM family of databases. You search by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula, and structure or substructure. Only a small fraction of known substances are included. In contrast, the Explore Substances section of SciFinder covers millions of substances. All the data here will eventually be incorporated into PubChem.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is not as complete as SciFinder.

Provides capsules on many topics in chemistry. This site includes reference tables and profiles of every element and thousands of compounds.

A search engine that aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository. You can view a short video about ChemSpider at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eje0AmntuII&hd=1. In April 2018 the editors announced that they are hoping to do more retrospective curation to improve the quality of the data.

This U.S. Food and Drug Administration database has information and web links for over 95,000 substances primarily in drugs, biologics, foods, and devices.

Physical property and toxicological data for over 721,000 chemicals. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

An internet search engine that allows you to search several free chemistry databases for substance and calculated property information. Note that free chemistry databases will only give you a small fraction of the information contained in SciFinder.

Many funders and publishers require research data to be made available in appropriate repositories. Here you can search for this data by entering search terms or by browsing.

A free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening. ZINC contains over 230 million purchasable compounds in ready-to-dock, 3D formats. ZINC also contains over 750 million purchasable compounds you can search for analogs in under a minute.

A database of bioactive drug-like small molecules. It contains 2-D structures, calculated properties such as LogP, Lipinski parameters, and selected literature references on bioactivities such as binding constants, and pharmacology.

a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains 7685 drug entries including 1549 FDA-approved small molecule drugs, 155 FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, 89 nutraceuticals and over 6000 experimental drugs. Additionally, 4282 non-redundant protein (i.e. drug target/enzyme/transporter/carrier) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 200 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data.

Physical and pharmacological properties of thousands of drugs and active chemical entities.

In this video produced by the American Chemical Society Division of Chemical Information, Martin Walker points out how recognize when Wikipedia can be a valuable source of information about properties, preparations and uses of chemicals. While this entire video is quite informative, starting just after the 12 minute mark you will see examples of reputable entries having a standardized box (CHEMBOX) on the right side of the screen containing important data and links. The following article from the American Chemical Society's Chemical & Engineering News magazine describes how chemists and chemistry students contribute to Wikipedia http://cen.acs.org/articles/93/i36/Working-Wikipedia.html/. The following article in the Journal of Chemical Education (Volume 93, Issue 3, pages 509–515, 2016) “Improving Information Literacy Skills through Learning To Use and Edit Wikipedia: A Chemistry Perspective”, by Martin A. Walker and Ye Li describes how you can learn to use Wikipedia effectively, and how you can edit Wikipedia articles. Another aide for creating and editing Wikipedia entries: http://wikiedu.org/for-instructors/. Note the Subject-specific entry for chemistry.

A supplement to Wikipedia concentrating on data.

A sub-group of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) produced this guide to global information and properties of agrochemicals.

A freely available infrastructure inviting contributions of research data.

Produced by the Pesticide Action Network this database has links to data on hundreds of pesticides, and formulated pesticide products, including their ecotoxicity.

General information on lists of chemicals of proliferation concern put together by international frameworks, intergovernmental organizations, and national authorities.

These free databases contain just a portion of the scholarly literature in the sciences. They are never a substitute for comprehensive databases like SciFinder.

A platform for academics to share research papers. Contains over 12 million papers.

Searching by topic or key word should provide you with some of the most active researchers in that field Click Introduction at the bottom of the screen for a description of the features this database offers.

Contains more than 300 million documents, but these are from over 11,000 different sources, many of which are not in the sciences.. Note that SciFinder covers nearly 10,000 sources that are in chemistry or related to chemistry.

While focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science, other sciences are included.

Claims to be the world’s largest collection of open access research papers with more than 135 million papers.

Links to the content of many publishers. Crossref lists which journals, books, and conference proceedings they cover.

A collection of open access scholarship, (600,000+ articles) dissertations and thesis, independent studies and journals from 202 school and institutions. This Open Access resource is provided as a courtesy from the library, we cannot guarantee full text access.

A searchable database of over 90 million entries, mostly journal articles.

Detects papers behind pay-walls and invites their authors to upload them in one click to an open repository.

Over 40 million open access articles, preprints and more in the life sciences and related areas.

An online digital repository where researchers can preserve and share their research data and outputs, and some of their articles.

Helps you find and understand peer-reviewed research papers. From Impactstory which also the provides Unpaywall (below).

Access to over 7 million articles from more than 2,000 publications. But many leading scientific publishers are not present.

Consolidates the contents of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. It contains over 2.75 million citations, including citations to 1.4 million journal articles from research sponsored by the United States Department of Energy.

This database includes many fewer important scientific journals than it did in the past.

May include some less than reputable predatory journals.

The Internet search engine for chemists and biologists, iScienceSearch is a federated search service that retrieves chemical compound information from a wide variety of databases. An alternate entry point to this search engine is http://isciencesearch.com/issl/

Provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online offered by 13,243 Publishers.

Contains freely available (Open Access) journal articles in the sciences, engineering, and arts and humanities.

Access to millions of free (Open Access) academic articles, chapters and theses.

The original Microsoft Academic Search described in detail what journals they covered and the time period covered for each. This was discontinued in 2014. The current version incorporates and reorganizes data from Microsoft’s Bing search engine. But journal coverage is no longer specified.

Open Access scholarly journal articles and content.

Contains freely available (Open Access) research publications.

C0ntains millions of scholarly works and patents.

Their free version claims access to over 90 million articles. Its features compared to the subscription version are detailed at http://1science.com/1findr/ .

You can search millions of publications.

This series started in 1921 and continuing to the present provides contains detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

A multidisciplinary aggregator of freely available (Open Access) journals and papers.

Aiming to make academic information easily accessible, RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers, offering comprehensive subject coverage without the information overload of a general search engine—increasing the visibility of academic information.

You can limit your search to scientific discipline. However, note that scientific publishers filed a lawsuit against ResearchGate alleging copyright infringement for papers uploaded to, and shared on, the site by its users https://pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/cen-09640-polcon4# Chemical & Engineering News Vol 96, Number 40, Oct. 8, 2018.

Contains only articles that are freely available. ScienceOpen is a combination online journal and aggregator of freely available journal articles published in other journals

This search engine's commands are offered in many languages.

You can find, format, publish & increase the reach of your research.

Follow topics, journals, conferences and more, with a research feed that adapts to your interests.

Uses artificial intelligence as a supplement to citation analysis to identify connections among papers to help retrieve related research.

Searches and aggregate of open access sources.

Sparrho checks 45,000+ journals hourly where you can create customized feeds (‘channels’) to stay up to date with the latest in science. Sparro is no longer free.

Digitized U.S. government technical reports.

Access to articles from open access journals. Run by Impactstory. Integrated with Unpaywall is the tool, OpenAlex https://openalex.org/, that enables you to chart connections between documents.

Their artificial intelligence continuously monitors billions of data points about the global research ecosystem to provide actionable insights for your decision.

A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.