Chemistry: Databases

Methods in Enzymology has been a laboratory standard for more than fifty years, with more than 400 volumes published since 1955. These volumes are not limited to just enzymology. They cover all aspects of biochemistry, and also include molecular biology and cell biology. Only for City College students, faculty and staff.

Every year the online journal Nucleic Acids Research devotes its January issue (http://nar.oxfordjournals.org/archive/) to databases in cheminformatics and bioinformatics. Among the more than 1000 databases listed here, this page has a classified listing of databases devoted to nucleic acid and proteins sequences, structure of small molecules, proteomics, and metabolic and signaling pathways.

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

Created by Stanford researchers, bio-protocol is a freely available peer-reviewed e-journal/database of protocols in the life sciences. Its mission is to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols.

A public, web-accessible database of measured binding affinities for biomolecules, genetically or chemically modified biomolecules, and synthetic compounds. The database currently contains data generated by isothermal titration calorimetry, enzyme inhibition, and receptor-ligand binding methods. Other techniques will be included in the future.

A collection of hundreds of databases of metabolic pathways and their genomes for humans and other organisms.

A Virtual Library of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Cell Biology.

A compendium of tools and resources for biochemistry and related fields.

Structures and concise descriptions of the most important molecules of life.

Contains detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body. It is intended to be used for applications in metabolomics, clinical chemistry, biomarker discovery and general education. It has chemical data, clinical data, and molecular biology/biochemistry data.

In the search box, enter a keyword such as: biochemistry.

Data and literature information on more than 6000 unique natural lipids, including fatty acids, glycerolipids, sphingolipids, steroids, and various vitamins.

A three dimensional interactive encyclopedia of proteins, RNA, DNA and other macromolecules. Protopedia collects, organizes and disseminates structural and functional knowledge about these macromolecules, and their assemblies and interactions with small molecules.